Some of my latest sock creations

I’ve been dying to learn how to knit socks for ages. I’ve bought so many books and sock yarn and tried to teach myself but always gave up. In August this year, I went to a sock knitting class at Threads and More at Sherwood in Brisbane and finally learnt how to knit socks on five dpns. It is now three months later and I’ve just finished my 13th pair of socks. Just call me the sock monster! All my socks are featured on my Ravelry page along with any adjustments I made to the patterns.

These are my Rhubarb Cobblestone socks (Pair # 12) made with Regia Hand-Dye Effect sock yarn. I found the pattern on Ravelry and it’s so easy to knit. The yarn wasn’t the best to knit with as it became quite thin in places but I really love the colour.

These are Pair # 11 – Random Tracks socks. There’s a bit of a story behind this pattern…it was supposed to be the Cobblestone pattern just like Pair # 12 however I misread the pattern and rather than frog it I simply kept knitting and made my own pattern. Sometimes masterpieces can be made from mistakes! For rounds 5-8 I should have K2, P2, K2 and kept repeating, however, I K2, P2 and kept repeating which dramatically changed the pattern. Again these socks can be viewed in my Ravelry page. These socks were made in Wisdom Yarns Poems Socks. The colours are absolutely stunning and there was no rhyme nor reason how the colours appeared, however, the actual yarn was very difficult to knit with. It got very, very thin in places and then very, very thick in places and was quite a ‘furry’ yarn. I have another ball of this sock yarn so will have to persevere with it one more time!

Pair # 10 – my lovely Staggered Cable socks. Isn’t this yarn simply gorgeous….it’s Online Supersocke 100 and I love, love, love the colours in it. This pattern tested my cabling skills with socks….I was juggling six needles at a time!! This is such an easy pattern to follow and one I will use again.

I hope you’ve enjoyed my sock adventures. More socks to come.

Leave a Reply

