Meet Betty Bear….Knitted Toy Tales

Betty Bear is made from the softest and most luxurious alpaca yarn that I purchased in May last year from Stanmore Park Alpacas at Yatala (south of Brisbane). The weekend was an open day as part of National Alpaca Week. The yarn cost $6 for a 50g ball and I used 4mm knitting needles. I’ll probably experiment next time with 3.75mm needles so the finished product has a tighter weave. The yarn was homespun on the premises which makes it all the more unique.

Betty Bear 2

Betty Bear 1

The pattern came from a gorgeous book called Knitted Toy Tales: Irresistible Characters for all Ages by Laura Long and it’s the Mummy Bear pattern. This book has the cutest little characters you can knit and they are all photographed beautifully. I have a few more I’d like to complete but finding the time is the problem! I have made one of the Mischievous Mice and once I make a couple more, I’ll feature them in a future post.

Knitted Toy Tales 3

This must be a picture of an earlier edition of the book. That’s the Mummy Bear on the right hand side.

Knitted Toy Tales 2

Laura Long also has an internet page if you’re interested in reading more.

I have also just ordered her latest book Knitted Toy Travels. Can’t wait for it to arrive.

Knitted Toy Travels 2

Betty Bear 3

Betty Bear 4

The added embroidered fabric on the ears, paws and feet really adds to the character of the bear. It’s a bit fiddly to do but well worth the effort.

Betty Bear 5

Betty Bear sits in my bedroom along with my other knitted teddy….Bartholemew Bear who is featured in a previous post.

I hope Betty Bear inspires you to knit some cuddly happiness.

Ciao for now!

Melanie

Leave a Reply

