Maidenhair Fern Socks….Pair # 17

I know I say it in most of my posts but this is another one of my favourite free sock knitting patterns from Ravelry. What would I do without Ravelry I might add! The pattern is called Maidenhair Fern socks and I am enamoured with these socks.

Maidenhair Fern Socks 5

Maidenhair Fern Socks 1

The pattern detail is exquisite and not difficult to knit either. It’s a 16 row repeat pattern. I did make a few variations along the way. To start with I used 5 dpns rather than 4 dpns….only because that was how I was initially taught to knit socks and I find it easier to use 5 dpns. When I cast on there were 18 sts on each needle. As a tip, for the round where you had to increase 3 stitches evenly across (making a total of 75 stitches), I k23, kfb repeat 3 times. I then redistributed the stitches as follows: N1 – 30 sts; N2 – 15 sts; N3 – 15 sts; N4 – 15 sts.

After shaping the heel and picking up the stitches from both sides of the heel flap, I progressed to using 6 dpns!! What! you’re wondering….but I found it easier to use the 6 dpns. My stitches were distributed as follows: N1 – 31 sts; N2 – 15 sts; N3 – 15 sts; N4 – 15 sts; N5 – 31 sts. Needles 2, 3 and 4 were the pattern repeat stitches and because the pattern consisted of 15 stitches it was just easier for me to have one pattern repeat on each needle. It was a bit fiddly but worked for me.

Once the foot section was finished and I was ready to start the toe, I was required to knit one row decreasing 9 sts evenly across Needle 2 (which was my Needles 2, 3 and 4) so I k3, k2tog x 9 times.

I changed the toe decreases section to suit the type of toe finish I like best. First round was the same, followed by Round 2 knit, Round 3 as per Round 1, Round 4 knit and so on until there was a total of 20 sts (5 sts on each needle). Divided the 20 sts between two needles (10 sts on each needle) and then grafted the sts together (Kitchener stitch).

Maidenhair Fern Socks 2

Maidenhair Fern Socks 4

Look at the lovely detail of the maidenhair fern pattern.

Maidenhair Fern Socks 3

I’m also very happy with the yarn choice I made. This is Schoppel-Wolle  Zauberball Orange and what I really like about it is that it’s not a solid colour but two colours that complement each other and yet there is enough colour in each section to really show off the sock pattern to all its glory. What do you think?

Zauberball Orange

I’ve used the Zauberball and Crazy Zauberball and I really love this sock yarn. It’s probably one of my favourite sock yarns to knit with. I used the Crazy Zauberball yarn to knit my Mediterranean socks which I featured on a previous blog post as well as on my Ravelry page.

That’s it for now. I’m going to enjoy my lovely air conditioning as it’s another stinking hot day in Brisbane today. You’d melt if you were outside!

Talk soon,

Melanie

5 thoughts on “Maidenhair Fern Socks….Pair # 17

  1. Mel I love the pattern although I can’t say I am a fan of the colours. You know me I would make it all black. I do admit the brighter colours show the pattern beautifully.

    Like

  2. Congratulations – you’ve graduated to being a genuine sock knitter! You see, sock knitters seldom knit the complete pattern. Oh, we probably knit the cuff the way the author intended, but then our favorite heel gets inserted, and eventually our favorite toe is used. After all, one reason for knitting socks is to get a custom fit.

    By the way, if you liked knitting with 6 DP’s, you should consider knitting socks with 2 circulars. The nice part about this technique is that all your heel stitches are on one needle – no shifting about! I seldom use my DP’s now, unless it is a particularly fussy pattern. Stitch markers take the place of separate needles for demarcating the pattern.

    One more thing: welcome to the Sockknitters list. Read your comment there, and followed the breadcrumbs home. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for your comments. I’ve read about knitting socks with two circulars and even bought a couple of books about it but find I learn something when someone shows me. I might suggest to my local yarn shop they run lessons on knitting sock on circulars.

      Like

  3. I also found you through the sockknitters group, I believe. I started knitting socks in August 2009, but believe I have only made about 17 pair total so far & just recently followed an actual pattern for the 1st time. Of course, I have also made several shawls, etc. during that time too.

    I learned 2 at a time on 2 circulars toe up & that is my favorite way to do them. Right now I have 2 pair that I am working on & a pair of mitts for work – the mitts are driving me nuts on dpn, 1 at a time! As was said before, markers can be used to mark the point that you would have the different needles and then there really is no difference to the knitting, you just don’t have a porcupine in your hands. But welcome to the world of sock knitting! I have been knitting for almost 44 years (will be 54 in June), but didn’t enjoy knitting until my mid 20’s. Even up until the last 5-10 years, I preferred crochet, but did find knitting enjoyable. Now I rarely crochet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

