Plain Easy Green Socks……Pair # 18

As Kermit would say “it’s not easy being green”….unless you’re my plain easy green socks!

Sometimes when I’m ready to start knitting a new pair of socks and I’m not in the mood to follow a detailed pattern, I reach for this pattern as these socks are very basic and are ideal to knit using a self patterning sock yarn. The pattern comes from the Yarn Harlot’s book “Knitting Rules” – Sock Recipe: A Good, Plain Sock by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee. This pattern is a great one to use when you feel your mind might be in a wandering mood while you’re knitting as you’ll spend lots of time going around in stocking stitch circles. But what makes it exciting is watching the yarn patterning emerge.

Easy Green Socks 1

The colourway of some sock yarns always amazes me. I would never have thought to throw the colour purple into this mix but somehow it just works. I cheated a bit with these socks and tried to start the second sock exactly at the same colour change position so both socks would look the same. I think I succeeded quite well, don’t you?

DSC01713

DSC01715

I love the look of this heel. So easy to knit and yet to a novice (like I was) it looked so difficult.

DSC01716

The yarn I used for these socks is Online Supersocke 100 and the colourway is Sport.

Online Sock Yarn 4

Online Sock Yarn 5

On a different note, yesterday I went to the Lifeline Book Fest in Brisbane City which is the largest second hand book sale in the world. It’s held twice a year in Brisbane…January and June. It’s also held in air conditioned comfort which was a must yesterday as it was another hot day in Brisbane.

There are literally millions of books to select from. This January’s sale runs for 10 days and each night the tables are replenished with more stock. It’s really hit and miss as to what you can find….some years are a bonanza and other not as much. This year was not a bonanza for me although I did finally get hold of a copy of Kate Morton’s “The Distant Hours” which I’d been after for a while. I also purchased another Scrabble board game for $7 with all the tiles intact. Plus a few older style knitting patterns and a couple of knitting books.

Plus, of course I bought a few more lovely notebooks to keep track of my row counts as I’m knitting my socks and other goodies. You can read about my notebooks under my ‘Essential Knitting Paraphernalia’ page. Here’s a picture of some of the notebooks I bought. They only cost 50c and $1. Gorgeous aren’t they?

Notebook Mel New

I will leave you now as I toddle off to do some more sock knitting. I have started Pair # 20. That’s right Pair # 19 is finished and ready to be photographed and featured in a blog over the next couple of weeks.

How can a person be bored when there’s so much knitting to be done!

Ciao

Melanie

9 thoughts on “Plain Easy Green Socks……Pair # 18

  1. Really like the latest colours and they look very warm…..i might buy a pair as we are going to SA in March for my BIG birthday…xxx

    Like

  2. My goal in knitting is to have so many pairs of socks that when I’m too old to knit for myself I won’t be relegated to cheap, store-bought socks. Life is good!

    Like

  3. Just found your blog by accident as I was looking for a place to buy Online Supersocke 100 in Summer colours. I thought that you may be able to help me. My email is marjnjohn@bigpond.com and I live in Victoria. I also, love knitting socks – recently finished a pair in a lovely alpaca yarn. Kind regards, Marj

    Like

Leave a Reply

