Minstrel Ribbed Socks………Pair # 23

Can you guess why I called these ‘Minstrel’ ribbed socks? Remember the Black and White Minstrel Show from the 1960s and 1970s? Well, that’s the first thing that popped into my mind when I saw this yarn. Yes, I know….my mind can work in very strange ways at times!!

This is the first pair of socks I’ve made where I actually didn’t follow a pattern but rather used the knowledge I’ve picked up from making the last 22 pairs of socks to make up my own pattern! I used a simple 3 x 1 rib stitch pattern for the leg and the top of the foot.

Minstrel Ribbed Socks 01

The heel flap is simply Sl 1, K1 to the end; next row Sl 1, purl to the end; repeat these rows to the length you require for your heel flap size.

Minstrel Ribbed Socks 02

The toe is a round toe method just for a change.

Minstrel Ribbed Socks 03

The yarn I used is Moda Vera Noir; colourway ‘Black Mix’. This yarn normally retails for around $12 a ball however I managed to grab a few when they were on sale at Spotlight for $3.50 each. Who doesn’t love a bargain?

When I completed these socks I thought ‘why not write the pattern and share it with other sock knitters, particularly those beginners?’ which is what I have done. Knitting the socks was the easiest part; writing the pattern is difficult as you need to include every step and you can’t assume other knitters can read your mind. The free sock knitting pattern is located on the front page of my blog on the black bar that takes you to other pages.

If you can’t understand any instruction or you find an error, please contact me so I can rectify. Remember, I am a novice pattern writer.

Well that’s my latest pair of socks which have winged their way to a dear friend of mine at Peregian Springs for her birthday.

Have a wonderful crafty/yarnie weekend. Tomorrow I’ll be joining a group of women to do some yarn bombing knitting and crocheting which I’ll blog about in a couple of weeks.

Talk soon

Melanie

One thought on “Minstrel Ribbed Socks………Pair # 23

  1. Wow, I love that pattern. Somebody gave me some socks that were similar and I loved them so much I wore them until they were in tatters!

    Like

Leave a Reply

