Sunday Yarn Bits and Pieces

I had to get out the wool winder and swift today as I received my lovely yarn from Skein last week. I’ve also joined Augustbird’s KAL and am ready to start my second item but you guessed it, I hadn’t wound the second skein into a ball.

To join the KAL you need to knit any of Two Little Plums’ patterns using Augustbird yarn. I’ve selected the Barnwood Cowl and Barnwood Hat for my two items. I decided to knit two as these make a complementary pair don’t you think? I can only hope my knitted items turn out as well as the ones in the pattern pictures.

Barnwood Cowl picture-horz

The yarn I am using is Augustbird’s Hearty DK in ‘This Earth’. I just love the earthy tones in this colourway. This is the skein…

Augustbird This Earth 2

and this is the ball of yarn…

Augustbird This Earth 3

I have almost finished the cowl and today I started the hat. Once I’ve completed the hat I’ll use the remaining yarn for the rest of the cowl. Not sure how long the cowl will be but I’ll be happy if I can wrap it around my neck twice for added warmth and snuggliness.

I also wound the following skeins of Top Draw Sock yarn I received from Skein last week. This is Skein Speakeasy in the skein form….

Skein Speakeasy 2

and wound into a ball….

Skein Speakeasy 3

This is Skein Green Tea in skein form…

Skein Green Tea 2

and wound into a ball…

Skein Green Tea 3

This is Skein Tuscany in a skein…

Skein Tuscany 2

and now wound into a ball…

Skein Tuscany 3

And finally this is Skein Rusty Rock in a skein…

Skein Rusty Rock 2

and now wound into a ball…

Skein Rusty Rock 3

That was rather warm work as it was quite hot and humid in Brisbane this weekend. Now, the big question is what will I knit with this yarn. I’m thinking maybe a shawl, scarf and of course some socks!

I haven’t forgotten to blog about my visit to Cleveland BUZZ on Saturday. I’m just getting all the photos together so I’ll probably post it within the next couple of days.

Hope you’ve had a wonderful weekend fully of crafty goodness.

Melanie

2 thoughts on “Sunday Yarn Bits and Pieces

  1. Wow! I am always in awe of the Skein colours; bright and beautiful and busy. 🙂
    I do love the rich greeness of the Augustbird yarn too. I’m sure you’ll be the fashionista in your new green cowl and hat.
    I have a suggestion for one of the super-colourful yarns: Pucker socks (see Rav link: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/pucker-2). I’ve just remembered these, and might have to find some yarn right now to knit them 🙂

    Like

    • Aussie knitters are really blessed to have three such fantastic hand dyed yarn suppliers – Augustbird, Dyed By Hand Yarns and Skein. What a smorgasbord to pick from! Thanks for the pattern suggestion. I have downloaded it and will now study it and decide what yarn to use. Perhaps Speakeasy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

