Easter Weekend Knitting Blitz

You know what I really love about having a decent stash, besides the obvious of course, which is having lots of yarn. It’s having lots of yarn you’ve forgotten about and then rediscovering it which is what happened for me this weekend. I have a couple of friends whose daughters are having babies this winter so I thought I’d make a start on knitting some baby items.

I attacked two huge bags of baby yarn in my stash room and found some little treasures, in particular some lovely soft 8ply yarn which was perfect for two of the cutest little patterns for babies’ hats. These patterns come from the most unlikely place….a calendar. In fact, it was the ‘Knitting: 100+ Patterns Throughout the Year: 2012 Day-to-Day Calendar’. The two patterns I particularly like are by Paula Dean Nevison. Paula also has a website where you can download some free patterns. There’s a couple that I am thinking of knitting soon.

The first little hat is the Feather and Fan Baby Hat and I used some gorgeous lime green yarn….Patons Feathersoft 8ply. This yarn has now been discontinued but luckily I managed to get a few balls of the lime green about 18 months ago on Ebay.

Baby Hat Lime Green 01

Baby Hat Lime Green 02

Isn’t is just the cutest, most adorable baby hat you’ve ever seen?

Baby Hat Lime Green 05

And because I loved it so much, I made a white one too.

Baby Hat White 02

The white hat is made from Bella Baby Honey DK. Again, another beautifully soft 8ply baby yarn.

Baby Hat White 04

The next cute little pattern is the Feather and Fan Rolled Brim Baby Hat which is also made with Bella Baby Honey DK in a beautiful shade of mauve.

Baby Hat Mauve02

I love this close up picture….can’t wait to see this little hat on a baby’s head.

Baby Hat Mauve03

Baby Hat Mauve05

And of course, because I liked it so much, you guessed it, I had to knit another one.

Baby Hat Blue 01

This little blue hat is knitted in Teddy Baby Softspun DK.

Baby Hat Blue 03

Baby Hat Blue 05

This next little hat is one that can also be made in child and adult sizes and it’s made from one of my favourite stitch patterns….mock cable hence the name of the pattern: Mock Cable Baby Hat; it also happens to be a free knitting pattern from Ravelry.

Baby Hat Orange 01

Baby Hat Orange 02

The yarn I used for this little hat is Cascade 220 Superwash. I recently bought a stack of this yarn from Yarn Glorious Yarn when they were having a sale of the discontinued dye lots. I bought 18 balls at $9 each….all in oranges, greens and browns. It’s lovely to knit with…so soft.

The pattern looks so intricate yet it is just so incredibly easy…just four rows repeated.

Baby Hat Orange 03

Now, to some little bootees knitted with Patons Feathersoft 8ply in this gorgeous lime green.

Lime Green Bootees 01

The pattern comes from the multitude of baby knitting pattern books that I have.

Lime Green Bootees  05

Now to something for fun….a little ball for baby to play with.

Baby Ball 05

This ball is made from Heirloom Easy Care 8ply and knitted with a double strand of yarn and using size 5.5mm needles. Again, I bought the yarn on Ebay ages ago and rediscovered it in my stash on the weekend.

Baby Ball 01

Baby Ball 09

And finally, last night I started knitting this Zig and Zag Baby Pram Blanket. Although the pattern calls for using up bits of 4 ply sock yarn, I used Bella Baby Sprinkle which is a DK (8ply) 60% acrylic / 40% wool mix. I bought it recently from Spotlight at a sale for only $1 a ball….what a bargain!

Baby Pram Blanket 01

Although this blanket will not have a real zig zag effect because I am using the same yarn and not changing colours, I still think it’s going to look lovely in this colourway of pink, blue and mauve. And what makes it even better is knitting with my new Addi Click Interchangeable circular needles that I bought on sale (what else!) from Yarn Glorious Yarn a couple of weeks. They are fantastic to knit with.

Baby Pram Blanket 02

I love the stitch definition.

Baby Pram Blanket 03

Well that’s how I spent my Easter…as well as blocking a couple of scarves and uploading all my knitting projects onto my Ravelry page. And of course, eating chocolate, some reading, drinking cups of tea and coffee. Mmmm sounds like a good idea so I’m off to make a cuppa. Hope you had a fabulous Easter weekend filled with lots of crafty and yarnie goodness…..and chocolate of course!

Talk soon…

Melanie

10 thoughts on “Easter Weekend Knitting Blitz

    • And the best thing is they don’t take long to knit so you can make a few items in a short period of time. It gives the illusion that you’re really working through your stash at a fast rate!

      Like

Leave a Reply

