Barnwood Hat and Cowl

I discovered Ravelry in August 2011 and have found it to be an invaluable source of information for all my knitting needs, in particular sourcing patterns in general and patterns specific to certain yarns. Their databases are mind boggling! There are literally thousands of patterns to select from.

I have also joined a number of groups and share my projects with those groups. This was how I discovered Augustbird’s group and subsequently the KAL that closes on 30 April 2013. The requirement is to knit any Two Little Plums patterns using an Augustbird yarn. Now when I first read those instructions I read the word ‘Two’ as the number 2 and immediately thought I had to knit two items. So off I went to Augustbird’s website and purchased 2 x Two Little Plums knitting patterns and two skeins of Augustbird yarn.

The patterns I selected were the Barnwood Hat

Barnwood Hat original

and the Barnwood Cowl. (Oh, if only I looked as good as the model in these photos…sigh!)

Barnwood Cowl original

I used Augustbird’s Hearty DK in the colourway ‘This Earth’. After realising my faux pas, I was quite pleased I’d purchased both the hat and the cowl patterns as these garments complement each other nicely. I also love the rich green tones in this yarn.

Augustbird This Earth 2

Hearty DK is a 100% superwash merino and weighs 100g. The skein contains 231 yards / 211 metres. With the left over yarn from the hat I simply knitted the cowl a little longer.

Barnwood Hat 04

Barnwood Hat 07

I thought I’d have to rush to get both items knitted as I have so many other UFOs scattered throughout my home but lo and behold I finished both of them before the end of March !! As required, I published a comment and photo of each item on the Augustbird Group page and entered both items as projects on my Ravelry page.

Barnwood Cowl 04

I had so many problems trying to get a true picture of the colour of the cowl. The picture above shows the whole of the cowl although the colour is not quite correct. The picture below shows only a portion of the cowl however the colour is truer.

Barnwood Cowl 02

Now I am the proud owner of a lovely hat and cowl all ready for the cooler Brisbane weather that I hope arrives soon! Just need to wait and see who wins the KAL prize which is a pattern and a skein of Augusbird yarn. Fingers crossed J

Until next time…

Melanie

2 thoughts on “Barnwood Hat and Cowl

  1. Nice work; I especially love the cowl. I think I’m in a neck-ish sort of mood… I recently finished two scarves, almost finished a cowl/neck warmer, and have started a vintage shawl…. 🙂

    Like

    • Must be ‘neckish’ weather. I’ve got a shawl and a scarf on the go with skeins lined up for more! Madly knitting baby hats at the moment for friends. They’re quick and easy with almost instantaneous results.

      Like

Leave a Reply

