Solace Scrolls Socks…….Pair # 25

I am having so much fun using Charlene Schurch’s book More Sensational Knitted Socks. There are so many stitch patterns to pick from. I’ll have enough socks for a centipede if I knit socks in every one of these patterns! ‘Scrolls’ is this particular pattern stitch and it’s an eight stitch repeat over 12 rows.

Solace Scrolls Socks 01

Solace Scrolls Socks 11

I used 2.75mm needles and cast on 64 stitches. Ideally 72 stitches would have been better for my wide foot (another eight stitch pattern repeat), however, as I’ve mentioned before, I hate knitting tension squares so have to suffer the consequences if my socks are a tad snug….at least they won’t slip off!

For each pair of socks I knit, I keep copious notes if they’re too snug or too loose so that the next time I decide to knit that particular pattern again, at least I can refer back to my notes for any changes to needle size or stitch cast on numbers. Although I can’t really see the likelihood of that happening in the near future as I have sooo many sock patterns lined up to complete and not enough hours in the day to knit them. No doubt this is probably the same dilemma for most knitters out there in knitting land.

Anyway, back to my Solace Scrolls Socks, I am sure you’ll agree with me….it is a lovely and eye catching pattern and the stitch definition is displayed exceptionally well with this particular yarn colourway.

DSC02061

The heel has a three stitch garter edging and the heel flap is plain knitting so it doesn’t detract from the scroll patterning on the leg and foot.

Solace Scrolls Socks 07

Solace Scrolls Socks 15

The toe section is simply decreased by four stitches every second round until 20 stitches remain; they are separated onto two needles and grafted together using Kitchener stitch.

Solace Scrolls Socks 09

Solace Scrolls Socks 10

Now to the sumptuous yarn. I know I am constantly saying this about every yarn I purchase and knit with….but this yarn is simply gorgeous to work with. It is so soft and snuggly and very consistent. By consistent, I mean it does not get hugely thick in some areas and then painfully thin in others, like some commercial yarn I have used in the past.

Augustbird Solace

I simply love the colourway too. A very soothing shade of sandy cream with flecks of mocha throughout. In fact, it reminded me a bit of mocha/coffee cake icing. Yummo! In fact, it reminds me of all the following pictures….

Mocha cake-tile

The colourway is called ‘Solace’.

26 Solace-horz

The yarn is Augustbird’s Hearty Sock which is a soft, bouncy 100% superwash merino yarn with a tight pebbly twist. This yarn is wonderful worn next to the skin because of its softness. One skein made my pair of socks with enough left over to go towards another small project I have in mind….Frankie Brown’s Button Quilt! I am saving all my sock yarn leftovers for this project. It’s a free Ravelry knitting pattern too.

Each skein weighs 100g and contains 366 metres (400 yards) of yarn.

Augustbird is located in the Adelaide Hills in South Australia; here’s a link to the website if you want to drool over some beautiful yarns.

Well I’m off to work now and I’m hoping when I get home there will be a lovely package waiting for me…..some gorgeous wool rovings ready for me to spin. Will show you them soon.

Have a fantastic crafty weekend. Until next time….

Melanie

7 thoughts on “Solace Scrolls Socks…….Pair # 25

  1. Ok Mel now that you have made us all hungry with all the food photos you will have to stop knitting and start blogging your cooking. Seriously though I love the colour of the socks and they did bring to my mind the food items you showed so you will have to be careful where you wear them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

