Market Day Hat

Just over a year ago before I discovered three of my favourite Aussie yarn suppliers (Dyed By Hand Yarns, Augustbird and Skein), I purchased my yarn from Lincraft, Spotlight and Ebay. Ebay was probably the best supplier as you never knew what was going to pop up for sale. It was during my Ebay purchasing days that I managed to snag quite a few balls of Ashford Tekapo 8ply yarn for only around $1 a ball which was a fantastic bargain as it generally retails for around $9 a ball. I’ve now got a huge assortment of colours: black, navy, purple, mauve, pink, berry, green. All the yarn is neatly stacked in three large plastic boxes so I went through it recently and plucked out a ball of the berry coloured wool to make my Market Day Hat.

This pattern has been sitting in my pile of hundreds of patterns for over a year as well. I thought the pattern stitch definition would be shown to its best advantage by using a solid colour and I am very happy with the result.

Market Day Hat 01

This is a four row 12 stitch pattern repeat so is very easy to memorise. I used size 4.5mm dpns rather than a circular needle and had 24 stitches on three needles and 36 on the fourth needle. I’m rather hooked on using dpns after knitting so many socks over the last nine months or so.

Market Day Hat 02

Now I just need to wait for some nice cold winter’s days to able to wear my hat! I think it will come in handy when I go to Noosaville for two weeks in July.

Market Day Hat 03

I’ve now started another hat with a cable pattern. Will show it to you when it’s finished.

Happy Mother’s Day this Sunday to all the mums out there!

Until next time….

Melanie

One thought on “Market Day Hat

Leave a Reply

