Mum’s Mother’s Day Wool Throw

This little throw didn’t take long to crochet at all. I simply created three small squares, joined them together and then double crocheted around them until I had one ball of wool left to use for the edging. Using the three small squares at the start enables the throw to grow into a rectangular shape rather than a square one.

Mums Throw 01

I made this for my Mum for Mother’s Day (which is 12 May in Australia). Just a small throw she can use in winter while lying on her sofa reading.

The yarn I used is Lincraft Cosy 8ply which is a 100% wool. I managed to pick it up for $2 a ball which is a $6 saving on the original price! Originally I only bought five balls but quickly realised that wouldn’t be enough so I dashed back to the shop for another five balls before the special finished.

Lincraft Cosy Wool Naturals Mix

Mums Throw 02

The colourway is called ‘Naturals’ and although it may not be everyone’s cup of tea its hues will match Mum’s lounge room perfectly.

Mums Throw 03

What I love about crocheting these types of throws in the one colourway is how quickly they grow; there’s no changing colours as you go. Once a week I meet a couple of friends for a coffee so I took the throw with me as it was an easy project to crochet and talk at the same time as there was no pattern to follow; it was simply double crochets around and around. At first it was an easy project to transport but got quite large towards the end. Luckily I had my large knitting tote which solved this problem.

Knitting Caddy Mel 9

Mums Throw 04

The edging is simply one double crochet in a space followed by seven trebles in the next space, one double crochet in the next space and so on.

Mums Throw 05

I gave Mum her Mother’s Day presents this morning which included this throw and she was delighted and is going to use it exactly for the purpose I made it…..to cover herself while lying on the lounge reading in winter.

Now what can I make next??? Hope all Mums had a lovely Mother’s Day. Until next time…

Melanie

6 thoughts on “Mum’s Mother’s Day Wool Throw

  1. Lovely throw, Mel. I’m glad your Mum liked it. Do you use US crochet terms? I was looking at the close up pics and your ‘pattern’ description, and was thinking “it shouldn’t look like that”. Then I realized that I use UK terms: silly me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

