Quick Little Cable Hat

I love the effect that cables give to a knitted garment. To those who don’t knit, cables look so complicated and intricate and some are however basic cables are quite easy. That is why I elected to knit this 3AM Cable Hat from a free Ravelry knitting pattern.

The pattern is knitted as a ladies small so I just added another 12 stitches as recommended to increase the size and also completed another round of the 8 row repeat pattern. This probably made it a medium size. Next time I’ll add another 12 stitches as I have rather a large noggin! This should make a perfect large size. I don’t like my hats to be too close fitting….I prefer a loose fit.

3AM Cable Hat 03

The yarn I used is absolutely beautiful to knit with. It’s Shorn Fibers Single DK which is a 40% Baby Alpaca 40% Merino 20% Silk yarn blend. The colourway way is called Autumn Leaves and it’s gorgeous. I used exactly 75g for this hat so with the remaining 25g and the other 100g skein I have I will probably knit a matching scarf.

Shorn Fibres Autumn Leaves 3

The alpaca in this yarn makes it so incredibly soft and smooshy. This hat will be coming with me when I go on holidays to Noosa in a few weeks time. It’ll come in very handy when I walk along the waterfront each morning….well that’s my intention at this stage!

Shorn Fibers Autumn Leaves 03

Hats are so easy to knit and don’t take much time so they’re always a satisfying project. This is my second hat to date, the first one being my Market Day Hat which I blogged about earlier this month.

A few more pictures of my 3AM Cable Hat…

3AM Cable Hat 01

3AM Cable Hat 10

3AM Cable Hat 05

Until next time….happy crafting!

Melanie

3 thoughts on “Quick Little Cable Hat

  1. Beautiful Melanie but you may not need it at Noosa, it is quite mild weather here at the moment.
    Helen at Noosa (in your absolutely massive unit)

    Like

Leave a Reply

