My Boy’s Beanie

I found this pattern in the latest (Winter) edition of Creative Knitting Magazine which is an Australian publication. I love cable beanies and this one is no exception. I made myself one not long ago using another very easy pattern. Unfortunately, the photos aren’t very clear and don’t give you a great picture of the cables. This is due in part to my son who hates having his photo taken and gets impatient so I had to quickly snap a couple of pictures rather than take the hundreds like I normally do and then eliminate any ones that aren’t up to my exacting standard 🙂

Beanie 01

Beanie 02

I used three balls of Cleckheaton Country Tartan 8ply which I had left over from a previous project. It’s an ideal colour for my son as he’s an outdoor worker and I can envisage this beanie getting pretty dirty!

Beanie 03

I have given him strict instructions on how to hand wash this beanie as it’s wool. The last one I made him was thrown into the washing machine and he wondered why it shrunk and felted!!!

Beanie 04

It took me about a week to knit doing a little bit everyday. I used size 4mm dpns (x5). I wanted to finish it quickly as this last week in Brisbane has been quite cool and the ideal time for my boy to wear a beanie to work.

Beanie 05

Yesterday I met with the Redland Spinners and Weavers at their bi-monthly Knit and Knatter meet up at The Artist Tree cafe. It was the largest gathering since the group started and was so much fun. Met Rona, another member of the group whose knowledge of spinning and spinners is mind boggling. I love these get togethers where we can chat, swap ideas, get help and generally check out what everyone else is spinning, knitting or everyone’s latest fibre acquisitions!

I’ll miss the next Knit and Knatter as I’ll be on holidays at Noosaville where I hope to be blogging lots about the Noosa area and the yarnie projects I’ll be taking with me to complete plus new ones to start. I have a Saraste Moebius kit I bought from Yarn Glorious Yarn last year which I haven’t started yet so I’ll pack my laptop and watch Cat Bordhi’s Youtube demonstration on how to cast on a moebius. This is a picture of the completed moebius…..I only hope mine will look like this too!

Saraste 01

Well that’s my weekend news. I’ve also just finished my fourth Easy Peasy Vest using the Keep Me Warm Vest pattern which I’ll blog about in my next post. Until next time…

Melanie

2 thoughts on “My Boy’s Beanie

  1. Nice warm looking beanie; I have the same yarn in red/black for socks for DH. I love the moebius pattern! Ill have to keep it in mind for the June challenge in LKA 2014 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

