My Mocha Easy Peasy Vest – # 5

Well I did tell I was on a roll with this vest pattern didn’t I? I am very pleased with my Mocha Vest as it’s been a perfect stash busting project. About a year ago I bought a huge job lot of yarn on Ebay and included in the bag was quite a few balls of 5ply yarn in a light mocha colour (Cleckheaton Machinewash 5ply Crepe), brown (Patons Bluebell 5ply), red and blue. I decided to make another vest by using two strands of the 5ply yarn in the light mocha and brown. I had absolutely no idea whether I’d have enough yarn or how far I’d get into the vest before my yarn ran out.

Well the knitting gods must have been looking down on me as I did run out of yarn but at precisely the correct place on the vest…the front two straps. I had also previously bought 10 balls of another 5ply yarn which just happened to be the same light mocha colour so I finished off the straps using only a half a ball of the Cleckheaton 5ply Riverina yarn.

Vest Mocha 02

To add a bit of texture to the vest and for something different I K4, P4 and then alternated each row to give a basket weave effect. I’m really happy with the result.

Vest Mocha 04

I wore this vest to work last week and it fits like a dream and is soooo comfy!!

Vest Mocha 03

Here’s a close up of the pattern…

Vest Mocha 06

I’m so happy that I’m actually starting to work through my stash…..don’t worry it’ll take years to get through it all…..but at least it’s a start. At the rate I’m going, I’ll have hundreds of these vests!!

I hope you had a great weekend. I finished another vest, knitted a few rows on a baby pram blanket and started another pair of socks. Until next time…

Melanie

Leave a Reply

