A Few New Acquisitions To My Stash

Trust me, I have slowed down when it comes to buying more yarn but there are just a few new acquisitions that I must share with you. I’m loving the Zen Yarn Garden Art Walk Series and have blogged about the first and second releases. I have since purchased the third and fourth releases through Yarn Glorious Yarn here in Brisbane (the only Australian distributor of this Canadian yarn).

The third offering in the new ART WALK Series features a painting by Vincent van Gogh entitled “Starry Night” which inspired this colourway. Painted on Serenity 20, Mr. Zen has captured the vividness and subtlety of the colours of the painting. From one medium to the next, artists express their use of colour!

Zen yarn garden starry-night

Vincent Van Gogh (1853 – 1890) was a Dutch post-Impressionist Master whose innovative artwork powerfully influenced modern Expressionism, Fauvism, and early abstraction. Astoundingly prolific, Van Gogh produced all of his work during a 10-year period, at one point, creating 150 paintings and drawings within one year. Painting outdoors, Van Gogh uniquely captured the nighttime nuances of light and shadow, and was also renowned for his paintings of sunflowers and irises. Tormented by mental illness for most of his life, Van Gogh created many of his masterpieces while he was institutionalized. Although Van Gogh only sold one painting during his lifetime, he is now regarded as one of the most profoundly influential artists of the 19th century.

Zen Yarn Garden Starry Night 6

I bought two skeins of Serenity Worsted which is a 75% sw merino / 15% cashmere / 10% nylon, and contains 175 yds / 100 g (worsted weight). Sue from Yarn Glorious Yarn also gave me a shawl pattern specially written for this yarn. Now all I need to do is to find the time to make it!!

This was the picture direct from the Zen Yarn Garden website…

Zen Yarn Garden Starry Night 3

The fourth offering in the new ART WALK Series features a painting by David Hockney entitled “Garrowby Hill” which inspired this colourway. Painted on Serenity Silk +, Mr. Zen has captured the vividness and subtlety of the colours of the painting.

David Hockney Garrowby Art Walk b 4

From a splash in a turquoise pool to a drive along a winding canyon road, British artist David Hockney’s captivating paintings encapsulate the essence of Southern California. Although predominantly considered a Pop artist, his wildly diverse works are impossible to categorize under one genre reflecting influences of Matisse and Picasso in his use of exuberant acrylic color and strong design. After completing his studies at the Royal College of Art in London, he was attracted to Los Angeles’ free-wheeling West Coast lifestyle and moved his studio there in 1964. The move played a pivotal role in the development of his signature style. Hockney is widely regarded as the foremost British artist of the 20th century.

David Hockney Garrowby Hill 04

A very interesting mix of colours don’t you think? I bought two skens of Serenity Silk which is a 5% sw merino / 15% cashmere / 10% silk and contains 500 yds / 100 g (heavy lace or fine fingering).

This was the picture direct from the Zen Yarn Garden website…

David Hockney  Garrowby Art Walka 4

A while ago I showed you the first two skeins of yarn I received from this year’s 2013 Simply Sock Club which I discovered while looking through Dyed By Hand Yarn’s website recently. This is how the sock club works: Two skeins of sock yarn are posted out in the last week in March, May and July. Yarns included are 2 x Tough Stocking, 2 x Mother’s Love, 1 x Silk Stocking and 1x Blue Chip Stocking.

What I love about it is that each skein of yarn is dyed in a colour inspired by something Australian. These colours are exclusive to yarn club members for 12 months and custom dyeing of these colours on any yarn base may be ordered by yarn club members for the duration of the club. The following colourway is the third one and is called Flame Tree and I’m in love with the colours in this yarn as they take me back to my childhood when I lived in Perth for one year and Flame Trees were abundant.

Dyed by Hand Yarns Flame Tree 02

Aren’t the yarn colours a wonderful representation of the true colours of the Flame Tree?

Flame-tree-flower-clusters

The fourth offering in the sock yarn series is called Happy Wanderer

Dyed by Hand Yarns Happy Wanderer 02

Here’s a close up photo to show you the gorgeous splash of mauve/purple…

Dyed by Hand Yarns Happy Wanderer 03

And a picture of a Happy Wanderer just to show you how well Julie has captured the beautiful colours…

Happy Wanderer

Both skeins of yarn are Mother’s Love which is a heavy sock/sport yarn. Mother’s Love is an 80% superwash merino / 10% cashmore / 10% nylon. Each skein weighs 100 grams and contains 397 metres (435 yards).

The final yarn I’m going to show you is a commercial yarn I picked up from Lincraft. It’s called Big Wool and I just love the colours…..lovely autumn green and orange. It’s a super bulky 50% wool / 50% acrylic yarn. I think I’ll be making another Keep Me Warm Vest with this yarn. I bought nine balls at AU$2.99 each so I’ll have plenty to make this vest.

Lincraft Big Wool Orange Green

Now I really need to buckle down and start using all my stash rather than adding to it don’t you think?

I’m so excited because I am officialy on annual leave and my next few posts will be from Noosaville on the gorgeous Sunshine Coast in Queensland!

Until next time…

Melanie

8 thoughts on “A Few New Acquisitions To My Stash

  1. I have copy iof this Van Gogh on my wall. I love it. I see it all th time becaasue irt’s right next to my Mac sow hen I look up, I see it. I have a lot eof my favourite things around amy Mac os that I lookm up and see them. m

    Like

  2. Hi Melanie, fabulous colours so true of what they represent. I look forward to seeing what you make with the wool. The Bendigo Sheep and Wool show is on from next Friday to Sunday. It’s a great time for spinners and weavers in Victoria. There will be plenty to see and most of us go home inspired and ready to experiment. I’m afraid I don’t seem to produce anywhere near as much as you or most of my spinning group members do. AND I’m no longer working! Thank you for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

