Noosaville Knitting News # 4 and my Embers Cowl

I enjoyed another wonderful day today on the beautiful Sunshine Coast. My dear friend Janelle who lives in this part of the world drove me to the Eumundi Markets which are always a must to visit if you’re in this part of the world. The Eumundi Markets has a diverse and amazing range of art, craft, products, entertainment and local produce and are open on Saturdays and Wednesdays each week.

We hadn’t long arrived and were walking past this stall full of witches when someone clapped their hands and most of witches started moving and cackling. It sure gave me a fright.

Eumundi 06

Eumundi 07

The Eumundi Markets consists of over 80 stalls showcasing local, handmade and international products including jewellery, clothing, skincare, giftware, kitchenware, shoes, childrenswear, bags and accessories, music, coffee, sweets, nuts and more.

You’ll also find gourmet foods and takeaway food stalls such as German sausages, yummy freshly made banana smoothies, poffertjes, momos and home made ginger beer.

Eumundi 05

Gorgeous bags of all different sizes and with lovely designs on them. I resisted and didn’t buy one.

Eumundi 03

Lots of lovely knick knacks too.

Eumundi 04

I can’t resist homemade soaps made with olive or vegetable oils. The top soap is Rose Geranium, Patchouli and Orange (+ rosehip oil and French red clay) and the bottom soap is Lemon Myrtle, May Chang and Eucalyptus (+ chamomile extract and crushed lemon myrtle leaves).

Eumundi Soap 01

The top soap is Cedarwood, Cinnamon and Orange (+ crushed dandelion root and beta carotene) and the bottom soap is Lemongrass, Rosemary and Lavender (+ seaweed and Australian washed blue clay).

Eumundi Soap 03

I also picked up this neat little sun hat as, all going well, I’ll be going out on a boat trip this Sunday and will definitely need a hat to protect me from the glare and sun.

Eumundi Hat 08

This stall captured the attention of everyone. It was stuffed animals singing and dancing…

Eumundi 01

And behind the scenes was the operator who was doing the singing, playing the guitar and moving the animals by moving his feet which had strings attached to them and they moved various parts of the stuffed animals. Very clever!

Eumundi 02

On the way home Janelle took me for a drive through Tewantin, Cooroibah and Boreen Point as well as a visit to Mount Tinbeerwah where we walked up to the lookout which had a great view of both Lake Cooroibah and Lake Cootharaba. I forget to take my camera with me but it was quite overcast and misty anyway so the photos probably wouldn’t have done the view any justice.

When I arrived home I went for a quick walk along the waterfront and came across this pelican enjoying himself in the river.

Noosaville Pelican 01

Noosaville Pelican 02

And just to make sure I include a bit of knitty goodness in my blog post, here’s some pictures of my Embers Cowl which I made yesterday.

Cowl Embers 03

I used a ball of Moda Vera Bouvardia yarn and size 9mm circular knitting needles.

Cowl Embers 04

This cowl is so easy to make. Cast on 68 stitches, join in the round and place a marker. Alternate rounds between knit and purl so you get an overall garter stitch effect. Make sure you leave enough yarn to bind off. You can add one twist before joining the round if you wish but I decided not to with this one.

Cowl Embers 05

This is my third cowl using this yarn. They’re so warm and not itchy at all. Plus they’re very light and don’t feel constricting around your neck.

Cowl Embers 06

That’s my news for today. Thanks again to Janelle for taking me sightseeing today to places I’ve not been to before.

Until next time…from beautiful Noosaville…

Melanie

8 thoughts on “Noosaville Knitting News # 4 and my Embers Cowl

  1. Mel,
    Great to hear you are having a good time and getting out and about.
    I love this cowl, the colours are beautiful and will go with a lot of your clothes.
    Simply beautiful.
    Helen

    Like

    • I think you may be right! If you wear them with the little mitten on the inside a child’s hand could slip into it. I thought they were just for decoration! Very functional I must say.

      Like

  2. Hi Melanie
    I’m enjoying your holiday as much as you are, your doing a great promotion for the Sunshine Coast. Those soaps look so edible. I can’t believe you didn’t buy a bag!
    Gillian RS&W

    Like

Leave a Reply

