Noosaville Knitting News # 5

Like most days since I’ve been here, it’s dawned rainy and then cleared up during the day so it was a quick trip to the shops this morning followed by a four hour knitting session on the river front. As per the other day, I had people coming up and chatting with me to find out what I was knitting. One woman was also a spinner and an avid knitter too. I mentioned to her that I was considering going to the Australian Sheep and Wool Show at Bendigo next year which is held in mid July. She was from Melbourne and had actually won prizes at the Show.

Another annual fibre event that I’d like to visit is the Warwick Jumpers and Jazz Festival which is held in Queensland. Unfortunately both events fall at the same time and also at the time that I like to visit Noosaville in July so I will have to take turns maybe.

Now to show you a couple of my knitting projects. The first is a plastic bag holder (of all things I know!) The stitch pattern is feather and fan and I found the pattern for the bag holder in Ravelry when I was doing a free pattern search on ‘feather and fan’. The pattern is called ‘Feather and Fan Bag Bag’.

Plastic Bag Holder 01

It’s taking a lot of imagination to try and find interesting places to take my photos as I’m a bit limited inside my unit so have had to resort to taking items outside and hang them off trees. I probably get odd looks from people who walk up and down the river front!

Plastic Bag Holder 02

The yarn I used is Cascade 220 Superwash and is part of a bulk lot I purchased from Yarn Glorious Yarn earlier this year when they were having an end of dyelot sale. I managed to get each ball for $9.

Cascade 220 Superwash 1919 Turtle - 2

Today I started knitting another hat. The pattern is called BAS Relief Hat and it’s in the latest copy of Australian Creative Knitting magazine. You are required to use 2 x 50g balls of Knitalpaca ‘Luxa’ 100% alpaca yarn but I’ve used an 8ply alpaca yarn that I purchased in May last year from Stanmore Park Alpacas at Yatala (south of Brisbane). The weekend was an open day as part of National Alpaca Week. The yarn cost $6 for a 50g ball.

Alpaca Variegated 01

Bas Relief Hat 01

And to finish off…on Monday night I took these photos at dusk as the sky and river looked spectacular. What do you think?

Noosaville Dusk 01

I don’t think I’ve seen such lovely shades of blue before.

Noosaville Dusk 02

Noosaville Dusk 03

Noosaville Dusk 04

And to finish off…I’ve just rushed outside and taken these two photos…the setting sun…

Noosaville Sunset 18-7-13

And the view from my unit…lots of families fishing on the river bank…

Noosaville Fishing 18-7-13

That’s my news for today. Until next time…

Melanie

2 thoughts on “Noosaville Knitting News # 5

Leave a Reply

