Noosaville Knitting News # 8

Today has been a very slow and lazy day for me with most of it spent knitting (surprise, surprise!) I’m eagerly trying to finish my red basket weave scarf and am finally on the third ball of yarn so all going well I hope to finish it tomorrow.

Red Scarf 05

I spent three hours this morning knitting down on the river front….it is so incredibly relaxing that I don’t ever want to leave! After lunch I spent another couple of hours in my front courtyard (which overlooks the river) knitting. I really want to finish this scarf so I can start something else. I’ve been very naughty and haven’t even attempted finishing two of the UFOs I brought on holidays with me…..the vest I started in July last year!!!!! and the baby pram blanket which I’m over half way through knitting.

I had a couple of visitors while I was knitting…

Ducks

Today I received a lovely surprise email from Lincraft to let me know that I’d won a prize in a recent Facebook competition…a copy of the book The List of My Desires by Grégoire Delacourt.

The List of My Desires

This “gem of a novel” has been a huge success in France with massive sales and rights sold in 27 countries, and it does sound as though its story may ‘chime’ with many of us. Here’s the blurb:

“What would it take to change your life?

Jocelyne is 47. She lives in a small provincial French town, runs her own dressmaking shop, has been married to the same man for what seems like an eternity, has had two children and lives a very ordinary existence. In fact so ordinary that she is beginning to wonder what happened to her, to all those dreams she had when she was seventeen.

Then comes the chance to change her life completely – but should she? For when Jocelyne begins to look at her life and its small pleasures, her friendships, her weekends away, her knitting and needlecraft blog through which she has gathered a community of like-minded women – she realises that maybe ‘ordinary’ isn’t so bad. Until the decision is taken out of her hands …

The List of my Desires is a wonderfully heart-warming novel about what we value in life and the search for happiness.”

Grégoire Delacourt’s first novel L’Ecrivain de la Famille (2011) won five literary prizes in his native France.

I can’t wait to receive this book and am really looking forward to reading it. With a bit of luck it’ll arrive at my place not long after I get home.

Yesterday I had a fabulous day boating up and down the Noosa River with friends of mine. The weather was absolutely perfect…nary a cloud in the sky. It was still and quite warm considering we are in the middle of our winter. Our hire boat was very comfy…nothing like sitting on cushioned seats all day!

O Boat 01

Some of us fished and although not much was caught, this magpie was eyeing off our spoils of the day.

Magpie 02

Although this picture is not very close up it’s a bird of prey that swooped down and snatched the bream that we threw into the river. You can just see the silvery outline of the fish.

Eagle with fish

We also motored past Makepeace Island which is owned by Virgin boss Richard Branson. Originally the resort was for Virgin staff only but has now been opened up to others to rent.

Makepeace Island

The chalets are very well hidden…you can just catch glimpses of them from the river. They blend in very well with the greenery.

Makepeace Island 02

And of course my blog wouldn’t be complete without another picture of pelicans that I took this morning.

Pelicans

Until next time…from beautiful Noosaville on Queensland’s Sunshine Coast…

Melanie

Leave a Reply

