Scrappy Mint Socks……Pair # 28

Well I’m back home now after a two week holiday at Noosaville which was utterly relaxing and was spent knitting, meeting friends, drinking coffee, eating, shopping, sleeping in and doing no housework!! Now I have the job of blogging about all the knitting projects I completed during that two weeks…so here we go.

A few weeks ago I was winding my scraps of sock yarn into small balls ready to start making Frankie Brown’s Button Quilt when two colours jumped out and demanded to be made into a pair of socks! Do you remember these socks: my Tidal Waves (left) and River Rapids (right) socks?

DSC01425-tile

So I took a gamble and started knitting some scrappy socks in these two colourways.

Scrappy Mint 01

The top sock is the first one I knitted so it’s the better looking. The cuff, heel flap and toe are knitted in Regia Hand-dye effect which is a 3ply / light fingering yarn. I probably wouldn’t use it again for socks as it’s quite fine. The leg, gussett and foot is knitted in Three Irish Girls Adorn which is a 4ply / fingering yarn and is so beautiful to knit with…great consistency of thickness.

Scrappy Mint 02

My poor old second sock doesn’t look quite as smart as I soon discovered I was running out of the lovely Three Irish Girls Adorn yarn so I had to use the Regia yarn on the foot section. I couldn’t believe it when I discovered I was only a few centimetres short of finishing the toe and had to quickly search for another scrap of yarn (lucky I brought some of them with me on holidays!). So the toe is finished in Ty-Dy Socks by Knit One, Crochet Too…another 3ply / light fingering yarn.

Scrappy Mint 07

Scrappy Mint 05

Scrappy Mint 10

Scrappy Mint 13

A couple of close up pictures of the two different heels…

Scrappy Mint 12

Scrappy Mint 14

All in all I am very happy with my recycling project which has resulted in another pair of socks. Oh and by the way the pattern I used is Sock Recipe: A Good, Plain Sock by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee.

I’m thinking of a feather and fan pattern for my next pair of socks. Until next time…

Melanie

6 thoughts on “Scrappy Mint Socks……Pair # 28

  1. You are so creative! I love checking out your new additions – I am getting some really good ideas from what you have done. I wish you lived closer to me in Northern NSW – we could have some Stitch N Bitch sock sessions 🙂

    Like

      • I know that feeling! I’m thinking of trying to get a group started here in Bangalow so if you do know of anyone here who wants a group knit-in, please do send them my way 🙂

        Like

      • I sdew all of my ends in. I make sure the needle is sharp enough to pass THROUGH the yarn. I se baack stitch I guess but making sure I go throiugh the yarn. These socks have never come undone. I have alwasy used this finishing method. Siomehting I learned in my sewater design days.

        Like

Leave a Reply

