Ever Thought About Joining a Sock Yarn Club?

Earlier this year I joined my first ever sock yarn club when I stumbled across the details on Dyed By Hand Yarns website. This is how the sock club works: Two skeins of sock yarn are posted out in the last week in March, May and July. Yarns included are 2 x Tough Stocking, 2 x Mother’s Love, 1 x Silk Stocking and 1x Blue Chip Stocking.

What I loved about it was that each skein of yarn was dyed in a colour inspired by something Australian. These colours are exclusive to yarn club members for 12 months and custom dyeing of these colours on any yarn base may be ordered by yarn club members for the duration of the club.

I have just received my final instalment in the 2013 sock yarn club so I thought I’d recap on all six skeins I received this year.

The first yarn in March’s instalment was called Spotted Gum and I loved how the colours exactly mirror those of the spotted gum tree. I haven’t knitted anything yet with this skein but am open to suggestions. I feel it is much too nice to be on my feet so am thinking maybe a scarf or a shawl.

Dyed By Hand Yarn Spotted Gum-tile

The second yarn in March’s instalment was called ‘Vegemite’. Who’d have thought to dye a yarn to resemble the colour of Vegemite but of course it is quintessentially Australian isn’t it?There are reddish flecks throughout the yarn which adds some interest. Maybe a pair of socks that has a great stitch pattern definition.

Dyed By Hand Yarn Vegemite-tile

The first yarn in May’s instalment was called ‘Flame Tree’ and I love its rich and vibrant colours. Definitely a scarf I think as these colours must be shown off and seen. Any suggestions for a pattern?

Dyed by Hand Yarns Flame Tree 01-tile

The second yarn in May’s instalment was called ‘Happy Wanderer’ and again Julie has captured the colours so well. Maybe a hat and some fingerless gloves would fit the bill.

Dyed by Hand Yarns Happy Wanderer 03-tile

The first yarn in July’s instalment was called ‘White Opal’ and its beautiful subtle hues really captivated me. I instantly thought of knitting a baby shawl which could be a family heirloom. I may need to purchase another skein if I want to make a decent sized shawl. Wouldn’t it look fantastic? And the colours would suit a baby boy or girl. Any suggestions for a pattern that would really show off these colours? Oh and by the way, this yarn is a 70% superwash Blue Faced Leicster / 20% silk / 10% cashmere so would be perfect against a baby’s delicate skin.

Dyed by Hand Blue Opal 02-tile

And finally, the second yarn in July’s instalment was ‘True Blue’. Now I don’t have much in the way of blue yarn and on a few occasions I’ve thought about knitting something in blue. Now I have the yarn! I’d probably use this yarn for a shawl or a scarf as it is so lovely and soft…a 50% superwash merino / 50% silk.

Dyed by Hand True Blue-tile

Now, as you can imagine, buying yarn is quite a personal experience as you’re generally selecting colours and yarn that you’re drawn to and what is your personal preference. To leave this up to someone else is a bit of a gamble as you have no idea what you’ll be getting do you?

When I saw that the 2013 sock yarn club would be themed ‘Australian’ I found that interesting and thought the colours could be different from what I’d usually buy and I was right in most cases. You can’t really go wrong when it comes to the colours of the Australian landscape.

I am definitely glad I joined this sock yarn club and congratulate Julie from Dyed By Hand Yarns for producing such a wonderful array of colours for me to knit with.

I really need to find the right pattern for each yarn and then get stuck into knitting some garments.

Looks like I’ll be signing up for the 2014 sock yarn club.

Thanks Julie! Until next time…

Melanie

Leave a Reply

