Alpaca Bas Relief Hat

I am slowly but surely writing stories about the knitting I completed on my recent four weeks holiday which finishes tomorrow 😦 Then it’s back to work on Tuesday. This little hat was one project I completed while I spent two of those weeks knitting at Noosaville.

I had to Google Bas Relief as I had no idea what it meant. Here’s the definition I found:

“A French term from the Italian basso-relievo (“low relief”), bas relief is a sculpture technique in which figures and/or other design elements are just barely more prominent than the (overall flat) background.

Bas relief is created either by carving away material (wood, stone, ivory, jade, etc.) or adding material to the top of an otherwise smooth surface (say, strips of clay to stone). This is a technique as old as humankind’s artistic explorations, and is closely related to high relief.”

I had no idea the name of this pattern was so profound! Anyway, here’s my Bas Relief Hat…

Bas Relief Hat 03

The pattern is in Issue 41 (Winter) of the Australian Creative Knitting magazine.

Bas Relief Hat 07

My hat is made from the softest and most luxurious alpaca yarn that I purchased in May last year from Stanmore Park Alpacas at Yatala (south of Brisbane). The weekend was an open day as part of National Alpaca Week. The yarn cost $6 for a 50g ball and I used 4mm knitting needles.

Bas Relief Hat 01

I loved every moment knitting with this alpaca yarn. As it came from alpacas on the stud I visited and was spun by the owners, it still had a few little bits of dried grass in it which gave knitting the hat a real organic and earthy experience.

Alpaca Variegated 02

I knitted my Betty Bear in this yarn as well and she is incredibly soft too. If I knit this hat again I will have to remember to add another repeat as the hat is quite snug over my rather large head!

Bas Relief Hat 10

This is the third hat I made for this winter but unfortunately due to rather mild Brisbane winter weather I didn’t get to wear any of them!! Hopefully next year it’ll be a bit colder or maybe I need to relocate to Tasmania where I’ll get lots of use from my knitted goodies.

Until next time.

Melanie

Leave a Reply

