Weekend Chit Chat and Handy Ideas

I’m on a bit of a roll knitting baby garments and putting them away in my ‘Grandma’s glory box’ for the day when eventually I will be blessed with a grandchild. I was thinking the other day that it would probably be an idea to actually label each garment so I don’t forget (which is easy for me!) what pattern I used, what yarn, what needles etc.

So I hopped onto Ebay (one of my favourite shopping experiences) and searched for label tags and was inundated with choices. These are the labels I bought….very handy as they came with a separate ball of rustic looking twine.

Labels 01

The twine can be cut to size to suit your needs.

Labels 02

I’ve written as much detail on each label as I think necessary especially whether it’s a wool or acrylic garment.

Labels 03

I just love the colours in this Ice Yarns Dancing Baby yarn.

Labels 04

This gorgeous orange cardigan is made using the Cascade 220 Superwash wool.

Labels 05

And this is the Milo Vest made in Patons Bluebell 5ply crepe wool.

Labels 06

My very first Pebble Vest made with Cleckheaton Country Paintbox 8ply wool.

Labels 07

And my second Pebble Vest made with a handspn 100% Merino wool purchased on Ebay.

Labels 08

Here’s a sneaky peek at my latest Pebble Vest. I’m using 5mm needles with the Ice Yarns baby yarn and this time I cast on 100 stitches to make a larger version.

Pebble Vest Leaves 01

Pebble Vest Leaves 02

And now for something completely different. I tend to use quite a few medium sized freezer bags and always have a devil of a job trying to separate them when they’re still in their packaging so I’ve come up with such an easy idea. I simply found the top of the bundle and punched a hole in one corner. Make sure you double check that you’ve got the top opening as it’d be a disaster if you punched a hole in the bottom of the bags which would render them quite useless!

Plastic Bags 01

Once you’ve punched a hole just push a large hook through them and voila now it’s so easy to select a bag by simply slipping it off the hook. I’ve got them hanging inside my pantry.

Plastic Bags 02

That’s all my chit chat for now….back to more knitting. Until next time…

Melanie

Leave a Reply

