Three Little Pebble Vests

I know I’ve said it before but I’d be lost without Ravelry…this is where I get lots of my ideas for knitting projects and my latest is the very popular baby’s Pebble Vest. Over 3,000 of these little vests have been knitted so that shows you how popular this free pattern is.

My first Pebble Vest which I have called ‘Forest’ was knitted exactly as the pattern dictated however upon reflection it will only really fit a newborn baby for a short time especially if the baby grows quickly!

Pebble Vest Forest 01

The vest is knitted in one piece and so easy to make. The hardest (or most tedious I should say!) part is sewing on the buttons!

Pebble Vest Forest 03

I have more of this yarn so may even make a larger vest. Aren’t those forest colours just gorgeous.

Pebble Vest Forest 02

The yarn I used is Cleckheaton Country Paintbox 8ply. It’s now been discontinued so I’m glad I have a little stash of it. The recommended needle size is 4mm however the pattern called for 3.5mm which made for quite ‘snug’ knitting.

Cleckheaton Country Paintbox Green 2

I was quite enthusiastic when I finished this little vest and was revved up to make another one so I went fossicking in my stash (I love having a large stash….it’s like going shopping without having to pay!) and found this handspun merino 8ply that I bought on Ebay in May last year. It’s probably not the first choice as a colour for a baby but if you could feel how soft the knitted vest is you’d agree with me that it’s ideal baby wool. I used 4.5mm needles.

Handspun Merino Grey 01

Here’s my ‘Slate’ pebble vest…

Pebble Vest Slate 01

I love it. As you can see I jazzed it up with brightly coloured buttons to make it more ‘babylike’. Different buttons adds more interest to these little garments too.

The great thing about Ravelry is that most knitters will comment on any adjustments they make to a pattern so I studied them all and made my own adjustments to make this vest a bit larger. It’ll fit a 46cm chest which is approximately an average 9 month old baby.

Pebble Vest Slate 03

Now all I need is a grandchild to pop in it! But I don’t think that’s going to happen for a while 😦

I’ve also knitted a Ribbed Pumpkin Hat in the same yarn as the original skein weighed 125g and this little vest only took 50g so I have lots left over.

Ribbed Pumpkin Hat Slate 01

Ribbed Pumpkin Hat Slate 03

And here’s my third Pebble Vest christened ‘Leaves’ as the colours depict the different colours of leaves.

Pebble Vest Leaves 03

I cast on 100 stitches and used 5mm needles for this vest so it should fit a two year old toddler. It has quite a bit of stretch in it too.

Pebble Vest Leaves 04

You don’t even need to use matching buttons….so long as they’re the same shade as your vest you can mix and match with what you have on hand. I have a few bottles of different coloured buttons so I love sorting through them to find what looks good on these vests.

Pebble Vest Leaves 06

Here’s a close up picture of those lovely shades of green, brown, camel and cream.

Pebble Vest Leaves 05

I used Ice Yarns Baby Batik for this vest. It’s a 100% acrylic so will be ideal to care for but I would still only hand wash any knitted garment.

Ice Baby Batik Brown Green Camel Cream 4

One last picture…

Pebble Vest Leaves 07

And here’s the three Pebble Vests in the order they were made.

Pebble Vest Forest 02-tile

Until next time…and I pose the question ‘why am I knitting baby garments again when I have so many other things to knit for myself?’ No idea!

Melanie

6 thoughts on “Three Little Pebble Vests

  1. They are lovely Mel. Are they knitted all in one piece? I have never knitted a thing, only crochet, but I am wanting to give a couple of your more simple things a try. Madison loves her little pumpkin hat…….she puts it on by herself and says “hat”.

    Like

    • Yes Carol, they’re all knitted in one piece. The only way to start knitting is to buy some needles and yarn and have a go. There are so many resources available on line especially on Youtube so you can actually watch someone casting on, knitting, purling etc. I’d suggest you start with size 4mm needles and 8ply yarn and knit a scarf using garter (plain) stitch and purl. You’ll be amazed by how quickly you pick it up.

      Like

  2. Baby knits are fun and you get great satisfaction as they start and finish so quickly! A lovely trio! I always get lost in Ravelry too and had to limit my time a bit as I found I was spending more time looking and dreaming than actually doing!

    Like

    • Thanks Rebecca….I know what you mean about Ravelry. I’m always checking out my friend’s projects, searching for patterns, participating in the forums and spending much too much time on the computer! In fact, I’m off to have a quick look at Ravelry now!

      Like

Leave a Reply

