Samothrace Wings Scarves

This would have to be one of the easiest scarf patterns I’ve come across. The pattern is so repetitive and it’s all done in garter stitch. I know it off by heart now and don’t need to keep reading the pattern…I just need to keep track of which row in the pattern I’m up to which I do with my trusty knitting notebook. The only challenging part of the pattern is to ensure you leave enough yarn at the end to finish the decreasing rows.

This pattern is called Samothrace Wings scarf and can be found on Ravelry. I really love the simplicity of the pattern which looks so incredibly stylish when completed.

Samothrace Scarf 01

Samothrace Scarf 02

Samothrace Scarf 04

Can you remember a while ago I told you about the Sock Yarn Club I joined through Dyed By Hand Yarns website? The yarns for 2013 were all dyed based on an Australiana theme and the yarn I used for my scarf is Tough Stocking in the colourway ‘Vegemite’. It’s a 4ply fingering yarn and I used 3.75mm needles.

When I first received this yarn in the mail, I initially thought it was just black with a dash of red. Well how wrong was I!! Once I actually started knitting the scarf I was blown away at the number of different hues in the yarn. There was actually no black…it’s mainly subdued hues of olive green, caramel with a splash of muted red.

Samothrace Scarf 05

I took my knitting to scrabble one night and my scrabble mates fell in love with the yarn. Like me, they were amazed at all the different colours in it. So I can definitely say ‘Vegemite’ is a winner!

Samothrace Scarf 07

Samothrace Scarf 13

Samothrace Scarf 14

Tough Stocking is a 4ply (fingering) 75% superwash merino / 25% nylon yarn, weighs 100g and contains 423m (463yd).

Dyed by Hand Yarn Vegemite 02

This pattern will definitely be a repeat one for me….in fact I’ve just finished my second Samothrace Scarf and here it is!

Samothrace Scarf Alfalfa 01

Aren’t they the most gorgeous shades of luscious green?

Samothrace Scarf Alfalfa 02

Samothrace Scarf Alfalfa 03

I love the versatility of this scarf….you can wear it with one end flicked over your shoulder, both ends hanging down in the front or wrapped around your neck.

Samothrace Scarf Alfalfa 05

The yarn I used is Abstract Fiber’s ‘Alto’ in the colourway Alfalfa. I purchased this yarn in March this year from A Chronic Yarnoholic’s Ebay shop which stocks some beautiful artisan yarns. This yarn weighs a healthy 125g and is a 5ply / sport weight superwash 100% Blue Faced Leicester. It’s quite beautiful to work with and I was deceived as it felt more like an 8ply / DK weight.

Abstract Fiber 'Alto' Bluefaced Leicester DK 125g 2

A couple of close up shots of those beautiful shades of green…

Samothrace Scarf Alfalfa 07

Samothrace Scarf Alfalfa 06

I hope seeing these two scarves will inspire you to try this very easy pattern.

Now for the boring mathematical calculations.

As one of my Knit and Knatter friends advised me: it’s an idea to weigh your knitting once you’ve completed one full repeat of the pattern to get an idea of how much yarn you can use for the body of the scarf before you start the decreasing section so I did this for the second scarf. The first pattern repeat weighed roughly 4g so I divided those grams into the total gram weight of my skein which was 125g and arrived at 31 repeats. I reserved 6 repeats for the decreasing section which left me with a total of 25 repeats supposedly for the body of the scarf. What I forgot to calculate into the equation is that when completing the 6 decreasing repeats towards the end you are actually using less yarn for each repeat so your 4g repeat weighs less and less.

To cut a long story short I ended up with 27 full pattern repeats (104g) in the body of the scarf and only used 10g of yarn for the 6 decreasing repeats which left a total 11g of yarn. I could have in fact knitted another two full pattern repeats and had only 3g of yarn left but maybe that would have been cutting it a bit fine! I’ll definitely keep these notes for the next time I knit this scarf to make sure I use every little bit of yarn possible!

Who’d have thought knitting could turn you into a mathematician but then it’s all about the number of stitches and rows and repeats and weighing your project as you go.

Until next time…

Melanie

6 thoughts on “Samothrace Wings Scarves

  1. Very cool. It’s nice to see lots of new ideas in the Wingspan concept family. And thank you for the yarn consumption discussion. Its a simple step, but one i am often guilty of forgetting. Your timely reminder made me scurry off and weigh my latest project. You saved me from a bit of minor project doom. So thanks again, and well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

