Nature Socks………….Pair # 30

The other night I finished a project and as I didn’t quite know what to start next (which is a major surprise considering the size of my stash!), I grabbed a ball of sock yarn and started knitting my ‘go to’ sock knitting pattern which requires hardly any thinking at all.

You guessed it….it’s the pattern that comes from the Yarn Harlot’s book “Knitting Rules” – Sock Recipe: A Good, Plain Sock by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee and is an ideal pattern to use with self patterning sock yarn. Over 10,000 pairs of socks have been made using this pattern and recorded on Ravelry!!!!.

Nature Socks 01

I called these ‘Nature’ socks as the colours represent the colours of nature and also because I’m running out of names to call all my socks! They look rather lovely photographed against the backdrop of these lovely green plants.

Nature Socks 03

I love the solid coloured stripes followed by the self patterning stripes.

Nature Socks 07

Nature Socks 02

The sock yarn I used is Patons Patonyle which is a 4ply 80% merino / 20% nylon yarn. It’s great to work with and is known as Australia’s favourite merino sock blend for over 85 years! (Australian Country Spinners). That certainly says a lot!

I just fell in love with this yarn when I saw the colours.

Patons Patonyle Sock Yarn 6

I’ve been busily knitting away trying to finish my Cable Bias Scarf which is looking a treat. I’ve used my Zen Yarn Garden ART WALK series (# 3) yarn called  Starry Night. It’s a 10ply / worsted yarn and contains lovely shades of blue with a splash of green. It’s looking fabulous and I can’t wait to show it to you very soon.

One more look at my ‘Nature’ socks….

Nature Socks 09

Hope you’re having a great weekend full of yarnie and crafty goodness. Until next time…

Melanie

4 thoughts on “Nature Socks………….Pair # 30

  1. Very nice. I like looking at your posts. I am having trouble knitting, my damn hands are not working well during this relapse but I am keeping up my interest as I am scared to lose it and you enthusiasm is really helpful to me. I prefer my own toe up method but I love socks regardless!

    Like

  2. Pretty! Am going to have to look at the LYS for this yarn. My favorite thing to knit is socks and always looking for unique yarns with unique patterns. I will be teaching a cuff down magic loop sock class for Community Ed in October. Thanks for sharing as I am always interested in what others are knitting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

