Starry Night Scarf

I love this yarn and I love this pattern! This is my Starry Night Scarf made using Stitchnerd’s pattern called Cable Bias Scarf. It is so easy as it’s quite repetitive.

Starry Night Scarf 01

Most of the pattern is just straight garter stitch which makes it a perfect portable project if you’re visiting friends or in my case, attending my Knit and Knatter group twice a month. I can easily talk while knitting the scarf as I have memorised the pattern.

Starry Night Scarf 02

The cable is quite easy too and once you’ve completed a few repeats of the pattern, you’ll soon have it embedded in your mind!

Starry Night Scarf 05

Although this photo does not show the lovely colours of the scarf, it gives you an idea of the shape which is asymmetrical. Stitchnerd provides lots of easy to read instructions so don’t be put off by the four pages of the pattern. She goes to a lot of trouble to explain everything, step-by-step.

Starry Night Scarf 08

Here’s a few close up photos of the beautiful colours in the yarn.

Starry Night Scarf 11

I love the look of the cable border.

Starry Night Scarf 10

The yarn I used was the third offering in Zen Yarn Garden’s new ART WALK Series that featured a painting by Vincent van Gogh entitled “Starry Night” which inspired this colourway. I used two skeins for this scarf.

Serenity Worsted is a 10ply 75% merino / 15% cashmere / 10% nylon yarn and it is incredibly beautiful to work with. It is so soft and squishy and does not split. I’m really enjoying using worsted weight yarns as a change from fingering.

Yarn Glorious Yarn in Brisbane is the Australian supplier of the ART WALK Series so if you’re interested in purchasing any of the new series (once they sell out they are never repeated) just contact Sue. There are still skeins of Series 5 available.

I’ve purchased two skeins from each series. If you want to see them, simply type ART WALK in the search button at the top right hand corner of my blog and hit enter.

Zen Yarn Garden Starry Night 6

One more look.

Starry Night Scarf 03

I have already started my second scarf using this pattern and it’s looking spectacular. Yesterday, I also visited Stitchnerd’s Ravelry page and bought three more scarf patterns…..the Zen Bias Knits. Can’t wait to start knitting them. I have some yarn picked out for the first one….Leafy Bias. It’s the Sullivans Aztec alpaca / acrylic / polyamide yarn I featured in yesterday’s blog.

BTW, Stitchnerd also designed the pattern for the two Samothrace Wings Scarfs I recently blogged about.

Gotta fly….can’t spend all day sitting here talking to you 🙂 Hope you’re having a fantastic weekend.

Don’t forget, if you ever wish to contact me you can do so through the Contact Me area along the top banner of my blog.

Until next time…

Melanie

2 thoughts on “Starry Night Scarf

Leave a Reply

