A Bag Blitz!

I’ve been having a bit of a bag knitting blitz lately. I seem to find a new knitting project, get obsessed with it and end up knitting heaps of that project….maybe 30 pair of socks in a year is a good example of that obsession!

This handy market bag is made from 4 x 50g of hand dyed Ashford Tekapo 8ply wool that I purchased from the Redland Spinners & Weavers open day in June last year. I love the colours; they’re ideal for a market bag as they’ll hide any dirty marks quite well.

Market Bag 15

You can find the pattern for Mel’s Handy Market Bag under the ‘Free Knitting Patterns’ section on the banner along the top of my blog or here on Ravelry.

Market Bag 18

Makes a handy little tote for some of my numerous recent yarn purchases.

Mels Market Bag 20

The next bag, made from the same pattern, is a lot larger as it’s made with Bernat Cottontots Solid 10ply 100% cotton. I used 2 x 100g balls to make it. The colourway is ‘catnip’ however I’ve called this bag my In the Limelight Market Bag. I just love this bright lime green.

Lime Market Bag 05

There is so much ‘stretch’ to these bags. They may look relatively small when they’re empty but they sure do expand to hold quite a bit hence it is important not to get carried away when you’re knitting the handle as it’ll stretch too. I’m sure you don’t want your bag dragging on the ground do you?

Lime Market Bag 06Some more yarn sale goodies that I haven’t told you about yet. Hopefully, I’ll post about them soon.

Lime Market Bag 09

The bags have a great circular base which makes placement of the handles so easy as there are no corners to line up with.

Lime Market Bag 04

As mentioned before, the pattern is available free on Ravelry and it’s been downloaded over 70 times so I am patiently waiting for someone to knit it so I can see how others’ finished bags look.

Until next time…

Melanie

7 thoughts on “A Bag Blitz!

    • Hi Maria, the yarn is Patons Fantasia. I’ll be blogging again soon about some more yarn purchases and will feature this yarn. I hope you enjoy knitting the bag and look forward to hearing from you about the finished product. You can always contact me through the Contact Me section along the top banner of my blog.

      Like

Leave a Reply

