Knitting at a Scrapbooking Retreat!

My usual weekend post is a bit late this week as I’ve just spent a fantastic weekend knitting at a scrapping retreat! My friend Helen who’s an avid scrapbooker asked me if I’d be interested in the weekend retreat and I could bring my knitting along. Wow what an opportunity….nearly three days of knitting….who could say no to that.

The venue we stayed at was Stacey’s at the Gap which is nestled adjacent to the Main Range National Park at Cunningham’s Gap in south east Queensland.

Staceys 01The cabins all had different configurations and were all named after nearby towns and cities: Boonah, Ipswich, Brisbane, Stanthorpe, Warwick.

Staceys 05

I spotted a beautiful mulberry tree….

Mulberry tree

And this beautiful mauve plant. I have no idea what it is…

Purple flower 01

And this tree which had stunning gold flowers…

Gold tree 01

The views were amazing…

Trees 02

Now to the scrapbooking. I cannot believe how much ‘stuff’ scrapbookers use!!!

Scrap stuff 04

Scrap stuff 02

Scrap stuff 07

Some scrapbookers even brought along mobile drawer units!!

Scrappers

I soon understood why we were met by the hosts who had a large trolley. I brought along four knitting projects and a crochet project which fitted neatly in two small bags.

I made two dishcloths. This one is Gramma’s Dishcloth and I used Lily Sugar ‘n Cream which is a 10ply 100% cotton. Both patterns are available free on Ravelry.

Grammas dishcloth 01

Grammas dishcloth 02

And this one is the Knitted Flower Cloth. I managed to get both cloths made from the one ball of cotton.

Knitted flower cloth 01

This is my third Samothrace Wings Scarf and I’m making it in Zen Yarn Garden’s Serenity Silk + which is a 75% superwash merino / 15% cashmere / 10% silk (lace 2ply). I’ll tell you more about it once I’ve completed the scarf.

Samothrace Scarf Garrowby Hill 01

I also took along my Leafy Bias Scarf which I’ll show you when I’m finished. It’s certainly coming along a treat except for two rows where I must have been too busy talking and messed up the leaf pattern so I will have to frog a few rows to fix it up. I was going to leave it but it just keeps niggling at me so I’ve relented!

I’ve also started another Starburst Flower Crochet Blanket in three colours: cream, olive green and pale green. It’s a long project as I only do a little bit every now and then so it’s great to take along to fill in time.

A few of the scrappers asked whether I’d been ‘converted’ to scrapping and I had to say ‘no’. I’m too much into wool, knitting, spinning and crocheting. And scrapping involves much too much ‘stuff’ for me and some of it is quite heavy too.

I’ll just stick to my lightweight knitting which is just so portable!

I certainly had a great weekend learning about another craft and meeting lots of new people and enjoying the beautiful and tranquil surrounds of this part of south east Queensland that I hadn’t visited before. It was so much cooler here in the mountains which I really loved the most.

Until next time…

Melanie

8 thoughts on “Knitting at a Scrapbooking Retreat!

  1. They carry drawers around with them! I think you’ve chosen the right craft! Blogging is like scrapbooking in a way. You can do lots of fancy designs online without the physical baggage! I downloaded the cloth pattern as I think I could tackle that! Nice holiday retreat too!

    Like

  2. Thx for your ever-enjoyable blog posts, Mel!
    The plant you saw is in the genus Acanthus, and common name of ‘Bear’s Breeches’. Under each bloom is a wicked thorn! But the bloom stalks last all summer in the Chicago area (U.S. Planting Zone 5A/B). Even the dried stalks make nice additions to dried Fall arrangements.
    The very long/large, jagged leaves are a nice contrast to the other types of garden foliage. Its an all-around striking garden addition!
    Bobbie R

    Like

  3. Hi Melanie
    The tree with the golden flowers is an Australian native Silky Oak – Grevillia Robusta – it produces the beautiful timber, silky oak, which you see in older pieces of furniture. Rainbow lorikeets love the flowers, they are sticky and sweet, I tasted one in a park in Gunnedah just last week when they were being pruned.
    Gillian

    Like

    • Doh! I should have known that. Mum and Dad always had silky oak trees in the garden when we were kids. That’s probably why the flowers looked vaguely familiar but I just couldn’t place where I’d seen them before.

      Like

  4. Bears Breeches is also known as Oyster plant here in Australia and I think it has been labelled as a Weed in Victoria. I came across your blog searching for Lily Sugar and Cream in Australia:)

    Like

    • Hi Tammy, I found my Lily Sugar N Cream from Bubs2Grubs in Western Australia. They have a great selection. I was very happy with the service too. Feel free to follow my blog as I always provide links for where I purchase my yarn. Thanks, Melanie

      Like

Leave a Reply

