Green Tea Socks………Pair # 31

A while ago I bought this lovely sock pattern book called Socktopus and have finally made a pair of the socks featured in the book.

Socktopus

These are my Green Tea Socks although the pattern is called V Junkie socks.

Green Tea Socks 01

The very clever detail in the pattern occurs from slipping certain stitches intermittently every few rows with two rows of purling in between so it is deceptively easy to do.

Green Tea Socks 04

This is the very first time I’ve knitted a pair of socks without picking up stitches along the sides of the heel. This pattern calls for a number of wrap and turn rows. I was quite intrigued how the heel turned out. It was so easy that I’m tempted to incorporate this wrap and turn heel technique into other sock patterns.

Green Tea Socks 03

There is no ribbing around the cuff in this pattern which was a nice change; the pattern starts right from the top of the sock.

Green Tea Socks 02

The yarn I used in Skein’s Top Draw Sock in the colourway Green Tea. It’s a 75% superwash merino / 25% nylon 4ply / fingering yarn and is a delight to knit with.

Skein Green Tea 2

I’ll certainly think about knitting another pair of these V Junkie socks in the future as they look effective and are quite easy to knit.

Green Tea Socks 06

Green Tea Socks 07

Green Tea Socks 11

Green Tea Socks 10

In fact I have just cast on my second pair in this pattern but you’ll have to wait a little bit to see them 🙂

Until next time…

Melanie

8 thoughts on “Green Tea Socks………Pair # 31

  1. What a pretty yarn and I love the pattern. You always have such nice pictures. They make me want to click onto Amazon and buy–so that when I get ready to make my next pair of socks I can try that pattern;)

    Like

    • Thanks Robbie. I always hope that my socks inspire others to knit the same patterns. Believe me, they have to be relatively straight forward before I attempt them. I’ve already finished one sock in this same pattern. Just need to complete the second sock now.

      Like

  2. These are just beautiful and I love the Skein yarn too – her yarn is so soft and the twist is really tight which I like for socks!

    One question – was that heel part of the pattern or is it a heel you found somewhere else? I was going to try the fish lips heel on my next pair of socks and was wondering if this was the same? Probably not – but just wondering.

    Like

    • Yes, the heel is part of the pattern. It’s the first time I’ve completed a wrap and turn heel and I rather like it. My previous ones have always been picking up stitches on either side of the heel flap.

      Like

      • I have tried the wrap and turn heel, and I don’t mind it, but funny how the heel flap method seems so much easier and I keep going back to what is easiest. –I need to push myself to use that, so it is easy too. Have you created socks toe up? How do you like that method?

        Like

      • Hi Robbie, I’ve never tried the toe up method. I’ve just stuck with what I was taught originally and that’s the cuff down method. Knitting the wrap and turn heel is a change for me too as I’ve always picked up the stitches on each side of the heel flap.

        Like

Leave a Reply

