My UFOs are steadily increasing….time to take control!

It wasn’t that long ago that I had my UFOs under reasonable control but now they’re getting out of hand again. I don’t know about you but when I’m knitting or crocheting a garment I’m also thinking of the next item to make and suddenly I have to start it straight away. Hence the increase in my UFOs. And it’s even worse when I buy a new bundle of yarn; I’m instantly planning more projects.

I’m embarrassed to say that I started this Curly Wurly Scarf around January 2012. The yarn is from a job lot I purchased on Ebay. I believe it’s an acrylic yarn. I can’t read the ball band as it’s written in an Asian language. This was in the days before I started buying beautiful wools and alpacas so that’s why the scarf has been languishing. The colour is a bit dull too. If I finish the scarf I probably won’t wear it anyway. Might be okay for a little girl’s dress up scarf. The pattern is from an Australian knitting magazine.

Curly Wurly Scarf 01

I started this vest in July 2012. I’ve finished one side and am about 1/3 of the way through the front. I’m dreading picking up the stitches around the armholes and neckline. And since I’ve found an easier vest pattern which I’ve talked about here, here and here, I’m so not interested in finishing this vest 😦

01 Mock Cable Vest 01These crocheted squares are modelled on the Starburst Flower Crochet Blanket from the book The Gentle Art of Knitting by Jane Brocket. I first made this blanket in acrylic and told you about it here and then made it with Cascade 220 10 ply / worsted wool and told you about it here. As you can see I am quite taken with this pattern. This is a long term project and I am in no real hurry to complete it. I’m not sure how large it will be; that will depend on how much yarn I bought.

02 Green Starburst Throw 01

This is my Autumn Fern Moebius. I started this on 4 August 2013 and I have lost interest because the pattern needs a lot of concentration which I find hard going at times. I love the yarn from Dyed By Hand Yarns in the colourway Spotted Gum.

03 Autumn Mobius 01

This tubular scarf is made from the pattern on the band of the yarn which is  Moda Vera Chantilly a 70% acrylic / 30% milk protein yarn. I don’t have much more knitting to do with this scarf so I really should attempt to complete it shouldn’t I? I mean, it’s only knitting around and around in circles.

04 Tubular Scarf 01

I started this scarf on 14 October 2013 and this will be the third Samothrace Wings Scarf that I have made. Another Stitchnerd pattern. The other two scarves can be viewed here. The yarn is from Zen Yarn Garden’s ARTWALK series and it’s called Garrowby Hill. It’s Serenity Silk + which is a 75% superwash merino / 15% cashmere / 10% silk (lace 2ply). This yarn is simply beautiful. I’m pleased to say I’m making inroads and should be finished soon.

05 Garrowby Hill Scarf 01This scarf was started on 26 October 2013. The pattern is the Pleated Pattern Scarf and the yarn is Shorn Fibers Single DK which is a 40% Baby Alpaca 40% Merino 20% Silk yarn blend. The colourway way is called Autumn Leaves and it’s gorgeous. I’m still debating whether the colourway and pattern are clashing. I think maybe a solid yarn would be better to show off the pattern and maybe use the yarn to make a scarf that has a cable detail.

06 Pleated Pattern Scarf 01

The pattern from these socks comes from the book called Socktopus. These are my Rusty Rocks Socks although the pattern is called V Junkie socks. The yarn I’m using is Skein’s Top Draw Sock in the colourway Rusty Rock. I’ve finished the first sock and am knitting the leg part of the second one so I’m over half way through.

07 Rusty Rock Socks 01

This is another Stitchnerd pattern called Chameleon Bias Scarf and it’s knitted in Cleckheaton Perfect Day 8ply which is a 70% wool / 30% alpaca and is deliciously soft and beautiful. Technically, it’s not a UFO because I’ve finished it but I’m just debating whether or not to block it. You’ll be seeing this one featured very soon.

08 Chameleon Bias Scarf 01

And finally, I started this Ripple Stitch Blanket on 8 November 2013 using the recently purchased Panda Magnum Soft 8ply acrylic. Each ball of yarn which weighs 100g will do seven rows. I started with 241 chains. If you visit this website you are provided with an excellent tutorial on how to do this version of the ripple stitch. It is set out so well and very easily understood.

09 Ripple Blanket 01

How many UFOs do you have and are you determined to reduce them? I’m desperately trying not to start another project until I’ve finished at least three of my UFOs. Let’s see how I go will we?

Until next time…

Melanie

BTW, On the right hand side of the home page of my blog there are lots of interesting links. I’m not sure when you receive my weekly posts whether you see these links. If not, what you can do is click on the Home button which is at the top left hand side of the page. This will take you to the home page where you can view all the links plus the most recent post. One link also takes you directly to my Ravelry home page.

2 thoughts on “My UFOs are steadily increasing….time to take control!

  1. This happens to us all when we first get the Knitting and Yarn Disease.The only thing to do now is to sit down with one item and finish it. Then choose another item that is unfinished and do likewise. Otherwise all your talent will be wasted with just the thrill of what you can buy now. There are so many beautiful yarns out there that it is very easy to grow huge pile of it and have very little knitting the show for it! I know! I have an attic full of yarn and a roomful of yarn. I tell you this even though I die and sell my own yarns! Once I stopped having too many items on the go at the same time, I felt so much better. Like me and like many others you have too much yarn than you can possibly net up in a lifetime and there’s nothing wrong with this particular passion the run truly be happy unless she also turn your passion towards actually using your tools to make garments. After all that is what your tools and yarn are for. Just go easy on yourself and take one UFO at a time. You will feel so proud of yourself want to have done just one.

    Like

    • Thank you Colin for your very sensible and timely advice. Yes, you’re right; there’s no point in having a room full of stash and heaps of UFOs. I need to concentrate and finish the bulk of my UFOs before starting another project. I will report in future posts on how I am going. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

