Rusty Rock Socks……Pair # 32

Before I show you these socks I’ll discuss the yarn first. I used Skein’s Top Draw Socks in the colourway Rusty Rock. It’s an 85% merino / 15% nylon sock yarn which has  undertones of lichen with overtones of rich rust tones. I love these autumn shades.

Skein Rusty Rock 2

Now originally I cast on ready to knit Nutkin socks as I rather liked the pattern. I was going along great guns as you can see from the picture below when lo and behold I went to slip the sock on to measure how far to knit the foot before the toe decreases (which is what I always do) and discovered it was soooo tight!. If only I’d read all the comments on Ravelry from others who had knit these socks too. I should have used size 2.75mm needles rather than the 2.5mm that I usually use as this would have made them that smidge roomier. And yes, I’ve been caught out because I didn’t knit a tension square 😦 As you know I never do and it was bound to catch me out at some stage. I had even incorporated a different heel…the wrap and turn heel.

DSC04105

So I frogged what I had knitted (groan!) and started another pair of socks using the V Junkie pattern that I’d previously used as I knew they fitted comfortably. The pattern can be found in Alice Yu’s book called Socktopus. Here they are…

Rusty Rock Socks 01

I love the wrap and turn pattern of the heel which negates the need to pick up stitches along the heel flap.

Rusty Rock Socks 02

I’m so glad I frogged Nutkin (despite the fact I’d almost finished one sock) and started V Junkie as I couldn’t imagine wearing socks that are a tad too tight.

Rusty Rock Socks 08

It’s an interesting pattern and just adds a bit of pizazz to the socks.

Rusty Rock Socks 03

The pattern has this lovely 3D effect which makes it look like I am a very clever sock knitter who can master really difficult patterns but this is not the case. The pattern is deceptively easy. It’s simply a matter of slipping certain stitches intermittently every few rows with two rows of purling in between.

Rusty Rock Socks 05

As you can see my foot mannequin has a very slender foot so the socks pucker a bit at the bottom however they fit my wide foot very well!

Rusty Rock Socks 06

Two socks ready to be blocked and stored away until next winter.

Rusty Rock Socks 09

Love them!

Rusty Rock Socks 11

The sad thing is I probably still won’t relent and start knitting tension squares. How many others out there are reluctant to knit them as well? I am sure there must be a few of us! And can anyone talk me into knitting tension squares?

And one day I must go back and knit some Nutkin socks as there have been over 3,700 pairs made and featured on Ravelry! It also happens to be a free sock knitting pattern.

And I’ve left the best until last…..I finished another UFO. Hooray!!!! I am feeling quite chuffed with myself!

I hope you have a lovely crafty weekend filled with lots of yarnie goodness.

Until next time…

Melanie

11 thoughts on “Rusty Rock Socks……Pair # 32

  1. Melanie
    I love your socks! I really love the heel-it looks simple but yet elegant and goes well with the pattern!!!! I don’t do swatches either- and yes I sometimes have to frog it all out and start over. Times like that I swear I will do a swatch before my next project but I never do.
    Susan

    Like

  2. Beautiful colour of that wool. Very natty socks. How can you bare knitting when its so hot in summer? I find it too hot and usually restrict the knitting and crochet to the cold months, but that means I don’t make many things…

    Like

Leave a Reply

