Garrowby Hill Scarf

Woo hoo! This is second UFO I have completed and I’m feeling quite chuffed I might add. I started this scarf in mid October and finished it at the end of November. It’s the third scarf I’ve made using this pattern….Samothrace Wings Scarf….designed by Susan Ashcroft (Stitchnerd on Ravelry).

Garrowby Hill Scarf 01

Garrowby Hill Scarf 02

The yarn I used was the fourth offering in the Zen Yarn Garden ART WALK Series. It’s Serenity Silk + which is a lace / 2 ply 70% merino / 15% cashmere / 10% silk yarn. It is gloriously soft and squishy.

David Hockney Garrowby Hill 05

The colourway is called Garrowby Hill and is based on the colours in David Hockney’s painting of the same name.

David Hockney Garrowby Art Walk b 4

Because this is a lace / 2ply yarn and the skein holds 500 yards the scarf is thinner and longer than my others. This is perfect for wrapping around my neck a couple of times on those cold winter’s mornings when I walk to work.

Garrowby Hill Scarf 06

I love all the different bright colours which together look like a rainbow.

Garrowby Hill Scarf 07

This scarf is particularly easy to knit as it’s all garter stitch and some short rows.

Garrowby Hill Scarf 09

I am so pleased to have finally finished this scarf. Watch this space for more completed UFOs!

I am now off to my Saturday Knit and Knatter with the lovely ladies from the Redlands Spinners and Weavers group. Hope you’re having a great weekend too.

Until next time…

Melanie

6 thoughts on “Garrowby Hill Scarf

Leave a Reply

