A Crochet Pot and a Knitted Scarf!

I subscribe to a few knitting magazines in Australia and I particularly love it when I come upon patterns that catch my eye and that I actually try. Two patterns from the recent Australian Creative Knitting Magazine resonated with me and those were the Market Bag and Crochet Tubs patterns.

Creative Knitting 02

Creative Knitting 03

I was on a roll over the two week Christmas/New Year break and crocheted 10 of the market bags! I featured two of them here and I will show you the others in future posts.

I also had a go at the Crochet Tub but found that I needed more concentration with that pattern as it was rather a tight/dense structure and of course this is because it needs to stand up and support its sides. Anyway, when the pattern got to the point where it said keep continuing to increase in this fashion (or words to that effect), I realised that I hadn’t actually got the gist of the pattern increases so I decided there and then to start with the sides rather than making the base larger. This is what I ended up with.

Crocheted Pot 01

It’s rather cute don’t you think?

Crocheted Pot 02

It reminds me of the items made from sisal by African women. Even the inside looks nice and neat!

Crocheted Pot 03

I felt it needed something to make it ‘pop’ so I thought about the leaves and flowers I had made whilst experimenting with those I placed on my two market bags.

Crocheted Pot 04

I must say I am really pleased with the results! It brightens up the pot no end!

Hhhmmm what can I use it for?

Crocheted Pot 07

A great little storage container for my crochet hooks. I’m not sure whether I’d make another one as it is quite a tight structure which is a bit hard on the hands. The yarn I used is the same one I used for my two market bags….that very coarse wool that I wound from the cone into lots of balls. It’s perfect for this project as it gives the pot a real rustic look.

One more picture…

Crocheted Pot 08

My second project is an easy scarf that had been languishing for a while. I started it on 16 September and finished it on Christmas Day. Considering it is such an easy pattern that is just knitting in the round, I don’t know why it took me so long.

Chantilly Scarf 01

I’ve called it my Chantilly Scarf after the yarn I used….Moda Vera Chantilly which is a 12ply / bulky, 70% acrylic / 30% milk protein yarn which is now discontinued. I used four balls and 7mm circular needles.

Chantilly Scarf 02

You could also wear it just tied around your neck…

Chantilly Scarf 03

…or just hanging around your neck…

Chantilly Scarf 04

…or even as a gigantic cowl!

Chantilly Scarf 06

The edges are just six rows of K2, P2 ribbing.

Chantilly Scarf 05

This is what the scarf looks like when it’s not being worn. The pattern came from the ball band of the yarn.

Chantilly Scarf 08

I am quite pleased with both these little projects!

Crocheted Pot 07-tile

Today I am off to the first Knit and Knatter gathering for this year. Can’t wait to meet all my yarnie friends to check out their finished projects and to just talk yarn!

Until next time…

Melanie

BTW, On the right hand side of the home page of my blog there are lots of interesting links. I’m not sure when you receive my weekly posts whether you see these links. If not, what you can do is click on the Home button which is at the top left hand side of the page. This will take you to the home page where you can view all the links plus the most recent post. One link also takes you directly to my Ravelry home page.

Leave a Reply

