Brisbane Bookfest Bargains!

Brisbane can boast that it holds the largest second hand book sale in the world! And it’s held twice a year….in January and in June. There are literally millions of books. It’s called the Lifeline Bookfest and I love travelling to the city twice a year to grab some bargains. They even have their own Facebook page. This January they’re open for 10 days!

Lifeline Bookfest 03

As I arrived yesterday morning (the first day), I could actually feel my heart rate elevate in anticipation of what bargains I would find. As you walk into the Great Halls of the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, there are huge crates of books ready to be used to refill tables after the first couple of days.

Lifeline Bookfest 01

Ideally, I would love to go on the first and second day of the Bookfest but as parking cost me $18 yesterday and it’s a 45 minute drive each way, I’ve only ever managed the one day. Besides, it is quite exhausting walking for hours looking at books. I was there for just over four hours.

Have a look at the set up. It’s amazing and this is only a section of the tables.

Lifeline Bookfest 02

I always head for the high priced section as that’s where the more current books are. I pay from between $5 and $8 for each book and that’s still way cheaper than retail price. Here are some of my bargains.

Bookfest 01

Thought these two books would be handy when I retire and I have more time and can knit for charity.

Bookfest 02

Lots of interesting ideas here.

Bookfest 03

Just what I need….more socks!

Bookfest 04

I’ve never thought about rug knitting before. I do love colourful Afghans.

Bookfest 05

Some gorgeous patterns in these books.

Bookfest 06

I have The Gentle Art of Knitting so I may even sell this one on Ebay. This is one of my favourite knitting books and it contains the pattern for the Starburst Flower Crochet Blanket that I made.

Bookfest 07

More gorgeous Afghan patterns.

Bookfest 08

Lots of helpful information here.

Bookfest 09

And of all things….a knitting journal.

Bookfest 10

A beautiful pattern book by Kaffe Fasset and it was only $2.50!

Kaffe Fassett

I’m selling these two on Ebay as I already have all three of Loani Prior’s tea cosy books. This is her first book and it’s harder to get hold of.

Felt n Tea Cosies

A knitting pattern book by Debbie Bliss.

DBliss Home

And lastly, some notebooks that ranged from between 50c and $2. I use these to keep a record of my row counts and any modifications I make to patterns.

Notebooks 01

They sure do have colourful covers don’t they?

Notebooks 02

All in all another successful visit to the Lifeline Bookfest. To offset the book expenses, I managed to sell a Little Peggy spinning wheel today for twice as much as I bought it over the Christmas period. The new owner was ecstatic with the wheel and I was ecstatic with the sale!

Little Peggy 1

It’s a 1978 John Rappard Little Peggy and the reason I didn’t keep her is because I already have one!.

Little Peggy 6

Don’t forget, if you live in Brisbane and can get along to the Lifeline Bookfest you won’t regret it! You may also get some bargains like I did.

Bookfest 01

I hope you had a great weekend and did lots of crafty and yarnie bits and pieces. I finally finished my Glitz at the Ritz shawl which I’ll show you a little later. It’s outside blocking at the moment.

Until next time…

Melanie

4 thoughts on “Brisbane Bookfest Bargains!

  1. What a wonderful treat Melanie! I know I would’ve been in heaven with all those beautiful books. You did very well indeed. I look very much forward to seeing all the projects you select to knit up! Maria Bown

    Like

Leave a Reply

