Autumn Scarf and Some Gorgeous Yarn

 

Another garment off the needles! This is my Autumn Scarf made using Shorn Fibers Single DK which is a 40% Baby Alpaca 40% Merino 20% Silk yarn blend. The colourway way is called Autumn Leaves and it’s gorgeous to knit with. I used exactly 125g for this scarf; the other 75g was used to knit my 3AM Cable Hat which I blogged about here.

Shorn Fibres Autumn Leaves 3

Here’s the hat…

3AM Cable Hat 03

And here’s the newly finished scarf…

Autumn Scarf 01

The pattern I used is called Palindrome and what I like about it is it’s a reversible cable which makes your scarf look great from both sides!

Autumn Scarf 02

This yarn is as soft as silk against my neck and will make a nice partner for the hat.

Autumn Scarf 03

I’m so glad I left the scarf relatively narrow as it’s enabled me to utilise all the yarn to make the scarf slightly longer than normal.

Autumn Scarf 08

Before I go I’m going to show you a couple of gorgeous yarns I’ve just received in the mail. The first is the number one instalment in Dyed By Hand Yarns’ 2014 Simply Sock Club and it’s called Surf Life Saving.

DBHY Surf Life Saving 02

Isn’t it stunning? I showed it to a friend of mine and she immediately grabbed it out of my hands as she was so smitten with it!

DBHY Surf Life Saving 04

DBHY Surf Life Saving 05

The second sock yarn is called Blue Ringed Octopus…

DBHY Blue Ringed Octopus 02

Both these yarns are called Tough Stocking and are a 75% superwash merino / 25% nylon yarn. Each weighs 100gm and contains 423 metres (463 yards).

The second lot of yarn that arrived this week is the eighth offering in Zen Yarn Garden’s new ART WALK Series that features a painting by Claude Monet entitled “Irises” which inspired this colourway.

Hand painted on Serenity Silk Single Mr Zen has captured the subtle colours of the painting. From one medium to the next artists express their use of colour.

Serenity Silk Single is a single ply fingering yarn comprising of 75% superwash merino, 15% cashmere and 10% silk. There are 430yds in each 100gm skein, enough to make a small shawl.

Zen Yarn Garden Monet Irises 02

This is the painting that inspired the yarn colours…

Zen Yarn Claude Monet Irises image

And this is a photo from Zen Yarn Garden’s website…

Zen Yarn Claude Monet Irises 04

I am simply amazed by the beautiful colours that can be used to make gorgeous hand dyed yarn.

That’s it for me today. Until next time…

Melanie

 

 

2 thoughts on “Autumn Scarf and Some Gorgeous Yarn

Leave a Reply

