Harmony Collar

I found this pattern in the latest copy of Spotlight’s Feel the Yarn Autumn Winter 2014 Collection. The pattern is called Harmony Collar and starts on page 96. By the way, if you’re thinking of knitting this collar there’s a small mistake in the pattern. It should read “Repeat rows 3 to 22 for 20 rows of pattern repeat…” rather than “Repeat rows 2 to 22 for 20 rows of pattern repeat…”

Feel the Yarn

I love the way this collar can also sit over your head when it’s really cold.

Harmony Collar 03

It can also be worn around the shoulders…

Harmony Collar 01

Or even as a large cowl…

Harmony Collar 05

I used nearly six ball of Moda Vera Harmony to knit the collar. Every row of the pattern contains cabling which made it a bit slow going to start with but once I got into the groove it went a bit faster! This is a 10ply / Aran, 50% wool / 50% acrylic yarn and has quite a fluffy texture to it.

Moda Vera Harmony Green

Last week I received a delivery of a custom dyed lot of yarn from Shorn Fibers. I love Angela’s colourways! I don’t know about you but I am inspired to purchase yarns that my friends are using or to knit garments they’re knitting. A couple of weeks ago, one of my friends from Knit and Knatter was knitting this Willow Woods Shawl in a beautiful gradient yarn. I knew I had the pattern at home so I instantly started looking for the right yarn to use. I also knew that I’d seen some gradient yarns on Shorn Fibers’ Etsy site so I contacted Angela to see whether she could custom dye some yarn in autumn tonings. This is the result…

Shorn Fibers Autumn Gradient 2

Beautiful isn’t it? I just want to start the shawl straight away but I have to finish the scarf I am knitting my Dad for his 90th birthday on 3 May (plus I also want to knit a matching hat!).

Shorn Fibers Autumn Gradient 3

Now you know how I like to maximise postage by trying to get as much yarn as possible into a postage bag for the same price as one skein!! Well I contacted Angela and she told me I could fit in another two skeins so I quickly went to her website and found this gorgeous worsted yarn called Malarkey…

Shorn Fibers Malarkey 04

Sometimes it’s hard to match yarn colours on a computer screen. I was hoping the green in this Malarkey matched the green in this yarn….First Beach (also a worsted yarn)…

Shorn Fibers First Beach 04

AND IT DID!!!! Don’t they look fabulous together?

Shorn Fibers First Beach and Malarkey 01

I want to make a shawl with both of these yarns so I’m on the lookout for the right pattern as I think it’ll look spectacular. Any suggestions??

Shorn Fibers First Beach and Malarkey 02

I had a quick trip to Spotlight today and managed to grab these yarns that were on sale. This colourway is called Apple Mix.

Four Seasons Two Ply Wool Blend Apple Mix

And this one is called Citrus Mix…

Four Seasons Two Ply Wool Blend Citrus Mix

Plus this one ball of Moda Vera Folly…

Moda Vera Folly

as I want to match it with this Moda Vera Folly Printed to make a shawl…

Moda Vera Folly Printed 02

A couple more pics of my Harmony Collar…

Harmony Collar 06

Harmony Collar 02

That’s all my news for now. Hope you all have a wonderful weekend! Until next time…

Melanie