Dad’s 90th Birthday Scarf

My Dad turns 90 years old on the 3 May and I was having so much trouble thinking of an appropriate present. There’s a limit to how many Sudoku books he can be given. Doh! I thought….all this knitting I’m doing and I know Dad feels the cold in winter so what about a scarf for him. Perfect!! Ta da…

Dads Scarf 01

I used the Yarn Harlot’s pattern called One Row Handspun Scarf as it’s so easy to knit up and is reversible which is what I really love.

Dads Scarf 02

Love these colours as they’re ideal for a male.

Dads Scarf 04

I used Patons Zhivago which is a 50% acrylic / 50% tencel as I know Mum would have problems with a wool scarf as she’d just forget and throw it into the washing machine which means it’d either felt or shrink or both!

Dads Scarf 03

I added the fringe as an afterthought and I’m so glad I did as it just finishes the scarf off nicely don’t you think?

Dads Scarf 05

Those fringe bits aren’t all exactly the same length. I’m sure Dad will never notice!

Dads Scarf 06

See what I mean by reversible…you can’t tell one side from the other which makes it very appealing.

Dads Scarf 10

Now that’s not all that I’m giving Dad for his birthday. One of my friends works with leather and he makes these great utility trays….you know those trays where you can store all your bits and pieces. I thought this would be ideal for Dad.

Utility Tray 01

You can find Troy’s leather goods at his website: Porters Saddles or on his Facebook page. He’s also registered with the official Australian Made website. I think Dad’s going to love his presents.

Utility Tray 02

The scarf fits in the tray quite neatly. Anyone would think I’d taken measurements before knitting it!

Utility Tray 03

To finish off I’m going to show you a couple of The Australian Woodworker Magazines I bought on Ebay a week or so ago. They’re from 1991 and have a project to make your own spinning wheel! I’m going to give a copy to my woodturner. You never know, he may decide to try his hand at making a spinning wheel. He also makes violins.

Woodworker MagOne more pic of my scarf.

Dads Scarf 07

That’s my news for now. Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend. Until next time…

Melanie

2 thoughts on “Dad’s 90th Birthday Scarf

Leave a Reply

