Two Aussies and Seven Kiwis…

Sounds a bit like the start of a joke doesn’t it? Rather, it describes the ethnicity of my nine spinning wheels! I’ve shown you some of them but not the latest two that I’ve collected. The first one is a beautiful little Fomotor Peacock spinning wheel that I bought from a friend of mine. It is the tiniest spinning wheel I own and is therefore so easy to transport.

Peacock Wheel 01

There is no orifice, rather this large hook which I am quite used to now.

Peacock Wheel 04

It also came with a plastic tubing drive belt rather than the usual string that I’d normally use.

Peacock Wheel 05

Interesting how the footman connector actually goes through the back leg of the wheel.

Peacock Wheel 06

Even though it’s the smallest wheel I own, it has the largest cup hooks. The hooks were originally right angle hooks however I replaced them with these curved hooks to ensure the yarn didn’t fly off.

Peacock Wheel 09

There are three brass looking rods in the front of the wheel which can be removed and two of them placed into holes on the sides of the block to create a very effective plying system.

Peacock Wheel 12

Very clever set up don’t you think?

Peacock Wheel 13

I went one step further and asked my woodturner to make me some wooden rods which do the same job.

Peacock Wheel 14

Voila! Now I don’t have to remove the brass rods if I’m not inclined to!

Peacock Wheel 15

I also bought a pack of four rubber stoppers which fit perfectly onto the legs of the Peacock which stops it sliding across certain floor surfaces when I’m spinning.

Peacock Wheel 20

This is the lazy kate I received with the wheel. I’m not sure whether it’s made by Fomotor or not but it was in rather a sad and sorry state, as were some of the bobbins.

Peacock Lazy Kate

So, of course, it was off to see my woodturner who fixed it up nicely. Those bobbins on the top are new ones he made for my Ettrick Standard wheel.

DSC05204

I also asked him not to glue in the wooden rods in case one or two broke. I didn’t want to end up with a piece of the wood stuck in the hole. So now they’re all removable.

Lazy Kate 03

Here’s the newly revamped lazy kate with her eight bobbins.

New Bobbins 02

These are four of the six new bobbins I had made for my Fomotor Peacock wheel.

New Bobbins 03

Beautiful isn’t it? Makes a lovely conversational piece among my non-spinning friends.

New Bobbins 04

Now to my most recent spinning wheel purchase….an absolutely stunning Crofter from New Zealand.

Crofter 11

It is definitely the most beautifully polished of all the wheels I own.

Crofter 12

Look at that gleaming wood! Admittedly I have given it a lovely coat of my 50% boiled linseed oil / 50% pure gum turps magic polish.

Crofter Wheel 05

It also boasts three huge bobbins….much larger than what you would find on the Peggies and the Ashford Traditionals and Travellers.

Crofter Wheel 07

It can also be used as a scotch tension and a double drive which is a bonus as I do like the double drive.

Crofter Wheel 09

I was pleased to see the threading hook was still with the wheel which shows she’s been looked after well in her past life 🙂

Crofter Wheel 04

Gorgeous isn’t she? The asking price was AU$100 however there was a lot of ‘play’ in the wheel. Even though the hub of the wheel sits securely between the uprights the spokes were a bit loose and slid around causing the wheel to be a bit clunky when it turned so I was reluctant to actually purchase it. So the buyer was happy to take AU$50 as I was taking a risk if I couldn’t fix it. I gave it to my woodturner who took the wheel apart and did a bit of his magic. Even though it’s still not 100% it can at least be used and is not ‘clunky’ any more so I am happy with my investment. The presentation of the wheel alone is worth the AU$50 as it is so beautiful. Would you have bought it for AU$50 and taken the risk?

Crofter Wheel 02

So now I am the proud owner of seven Kiwis. L to R: Little Peggy, Wee Peggy, Ashford Traveller, Crofter, Fomotor Peacock and two Ashford Traditionals (plus the full lazy kate sitting in the front). A lot of my friends ask how I can possibly store nine spinning wheels in my townhouse. Well, as you can see, when they’re packed up beside each other they really don’t take up much room, especially the upright wheels.

7 Kiwi Wheels 01

And two Aussies. From L to R: Ettrick Standard and Tarra Carousel.

2 Aussie Wheels 03

Phew that was a mammoth effort loading all those pictures! And in case you’re wondering, well yes I still keep an eye out for spinning wheels to add to my collection. I’m never sure what I’m after but when I see it I know straight away I have to own it!

My two favourites at the moment are the Ettrick Standard and the Fomotor Peacock. I certainly love the ability to pick up the Peacock and take it anywhere as it’s not too heavy and doesn’t take up much room at all. I’ll be taking it to Noosaville in July this year to do some spinning on the river front. I had a few comments from people last year when I was knitting so let’s see how many people stop and talk about the spinning 🙂

BTW if you’re ever trying to identify a spinning wheel always go to the New Zealand spinning wheels website which is administered by a very knowledgeable Mary Knox. There’s also a section for Aussie spinning wheels too. I find it invaluable for trying to source the makers of my spinning wheels. Mary is also very grateful to receive any information to add to what she has collected. You can contact her directly through the website.

I also pdf any literature I have gathered over the last couple of years that relates to wheels that are no longer made. You can find them under the Spinning Wheel Info section of my blog which is along the top banner of the website.

Just another look at those Kiwi wheels….three in this picture (love all the different colours of the wheels).

3 Kiwi Wheels

And four in this picture.

4 Kiwi Wheels

I’m off to Knit and Knatter this afternoon to join my spinning and knitting friends to share some laughs and knowledge as well as to drink lovely coffee and eat sinful cakes! Plus show off our latest knitted and spun projects.

Hope you have a wonderful weekend too. Until next time…

Melanie

BTW, On the right hand side of the home page of my blog there are lots of interesting links. I’m not sure when you receive my weekly posts whether you see these links. If not, what you can do is click on the Home button which is at the top left hand side of the page. This will take you to the home page where you can view all the links plus the most recent post. One link also takes you directly to my Ravelry home page.

 

11 thoughts on “Two Aussies and Seven Kiwis…

  1. Mel, where is Knit and Knatter held now that the Artist Tree has closed down? Sadly I have had to stop crocheting/knitting for the moment due to my sore shoulder (bursitis). Spewin!!!!!

    Like

    • Hi Janet, we now meet on the 2nd and 4th Saturday of each month at 1-1.30pm at the Hoya Garden Centre, Redland Bay Road, Alexandra Hills (near the Boundary Road) intersection. It’s a huge venue, with lots of undercover seating and plenty of room for us if we wish to bring our spinning wheels. I think they enjoy having us there as it makes the place look interesting and busy!

      Like

  2. Your site has helped. Thank you. I’ve just bought a crofter spinning wheel for £30.00 . The spokes are very wobbly, but it’s getting fixed up.😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

