Tangerine Yolo Shawl

When I first saw this shawl I knew instantly that I wanted to make one. I think it was a combination of the mock cabling and the colour of the yarn! Unfortunately, at that stage the pattern hadn’t been written so I had to wait patiently for it. Now, if you’ve been following my blog for a while, you’ll know that I have made a number of scarves from patterns written by Susan Ashcroft (aka stichnerd on Ravelry).

The first one was my Samothrace Wings Scarf, followed by another Samothrace Scarf in a gorgeous Zen Yarn Garden yarn, followed by the Starry Night Cable Bias Scarf, the Serengeti Cable Bias Scarf, the Leafy Bias Scarf and the Chameleon Bias Scarf. You could almost say I’m addicted to Susan’s patterns!

Susan has very kindly given me permission to show you the photo that I fell in love with.

stitchnerd yolo

When I realised the Yolo Scarf pattern was available I instantly purchased it and had the scarf completed in less than a week. Because I still had the memory of that beautiful orange yarn that Susan used, I selected some gorgeous tangerine yarn that I’d purchased from A Chronic Yarnolohic’s Ebay store a while ago. I have since bought the last remaining four balls of this yarn as I love it sooooo much. I may attempt to knit my own mock cable hat….unless anyone can point me in the direction of an easy to knit hat that features mock cabling??

The yarn is Mirasol Tuhu which is a 50% baby llama / 40% merino / 10% angora blend. It is so beautifully soft and squishy and feels glorious against the skin. It’s an 8ply / DK yarn and I used size 5.00mm needles for this project.

Here it is…… my beautiful Tangerine Yolo Shawl.

Tangerine Yolo 001

I have always loved mock cables as they’re so, so easy to knit and yet look a lot more complicated than they actually are.

Tangerine Yolo 05

I used exactly four balls of yarn to make the scarf and was left with only a small amount of yarn.

Mirasol 'Tuhu' 02

It only required very light blocking.

Tangerine Yolo 04

I love the faint lines that show the increases.

Tangerine Yolo 08

I would highly recommend this pattern, particularly if you’re looking for something that is easy, doesn’t take too much concentration (particularly if you’re talking at the same time) and looks fantastic.

Tangerine Yolo 002

Tangerine Yolo 02

Tangerine Yolo 03

Tangerine Yolo 12

Tangerine Yolo 09

On another note, if you are interested, I have also just started building a website for my local spinners group: The Redland Spinners & Weavers Inc. The group will celebrate its 36th year on 8 August and I am keen to uploads lots of information of the group’s history throughout the last 36 years. I am so excited as it’s starting to look quite good as I add more information and pictures.

On Sunday I will be demonstrating spinning at the Sandgate Police Citizens Youth Club at The Homegrown Movement’s Trade Off Day. This is their first trade off day so I don’t quite know what to expect but it should be fun.

And tomorrow I’m off to Knit and Knatter again. Love these social crafty get togethers with my fibre friends!

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend filled with yarnie goodness! Until next time…

Melanie

6 thoughts on “Tangerine Yolo Shawl

Leave a Reply

