Yarning Bits and Pieces

When I sent out my last post I hinted that I had bought a bit of stash at the Redlands Spinners and Weavers Open Day last week. Well, now I’m going to show you all my purchases starting with this lovely green yarn from Fiberific

Fiberific Green Wool

Ixchel Bunny baby alpaca and bunny tops…

Baby alpaca and bunny top

Ixchel Bunny cashmere fling…

Cashmere fling

Ixchel Bunny wicked tops…

Wicked tops

Webb works merino/silk braids…

WebbWorks merino silk 03

Undyed alpaca fleece…

Undyed Alpaca fleece

Brown alpaca fleece…

Brown alpaca fleece 01

‘Mongrel’ fleece…

Mongrel fleece

Another one of Desley’s beautifully sewn bags (just call me the ‘bag lady’)…

Llama Bag 01-tile

A spinning lap cloth. Very handy when you’re spinning dark fleece as you can see what you’re doing over the white cloth…

Spinning Lap Mat 01

And the reverse side has a black section for when you’re spinning a lighter coloured fleece/wool…

Spinning Lap Mat 04

Some beautiful hand towels…

Spinning Hand Towels 01

I’ve already started using one of them…

Spinning Hand Towels 03

Four cute little sheep ceramic tiles that are used as coasters…

Sheep Coasters 01

Sheep Coasters 02

And then this afternoon on the way home from a yarn bombing project I dropped into a local antique shop and found this cute little plate called ‘Bath Time’. I only bought it because it has a picture of a spinning wheel on the right hand side of the plate…

Bath Time Plate 01

Yes, I know, I’m going a bit ‘loopy’ aren’t I? Here’s a close up picture of the spinning wheel…

Bath Time Plate 02

And I’ve saved the best for last. About three weeks ago I saw this lamp for sale for AU$50 on Gumtree and I knew I had to have it. It was only a 20 minute drive away too. I am absolutely delighted with it…

Lamp 01

It is quite a few years old as it belonged the previous owner’s mother. It is so lifelike; in fact the treadle turns the wheel around…

Lamp 03

I love turning it on every night…

Lamp 07

Now I have all my ‘sheepish’ bits and pieces in the same spot. Those two little things dangling off the light are little things you can hang off your mobile phone. I bought them in New Zealand a few years ago and only just realised the puaua shell section is actually a picture of a sheep so they’ve taken pride of place with my other sheepish bits and pieces…

Lamp 11

That’s all my news for now. Hope you enjoyed looking at all my recent purchases as I certainly enjoyed sharing them with you.

I have been busily knitting and have quite a few shawls to show you over the next few weeks.

Until next time…

Melanie

3 thoughts on “Yarning Bits and Pieces

  1. I see what you mean about the spinning wheel lampshade! And I love that green yarn at the top of the page. Is it telling you yet what it wants to become?

    Like

Leave a Reply

