The Delightful Dragon Light Demiluna Shawl

This is a delightfully easy pattern to knit. It sits beautifully and is a crescent shape. I must admit I’m getting quite partial to crescent shaped shawls as they sit neatly on your shoulders and don’t tend to move around too much.

Demiluna Shawl 01

The name of the pattern is Demiluna Shawl and is a free Ravelry knitting pattern. It’s based on Elizabeth Zimmermann’s classic Pi Shawl pattern and is finished with a garter stitch rib edging.

Demiluna Shawl 05

I love all the eyelet holes.

Demiluna Shawl 00

The yarn I used was particularly beautiful to knit with. It’s Augustbird’s Rich Sock yarn which is an 80% merino / 10% cashmere / 10% nylon. The colourway is ‘Dragon Light’.

Augustbird Dragon Light

This is not a colour I would usually use however I think it looks gorgeous and will match jeans perfectly.

Demiluna Shawl 07

The blocking certainly brought out the pattern.

Demiluna Shawl 10

This is one pattern I will probably revisit as it doesn’t require too much concentration and those are the patterns I like. That way I can knit and talk at the same time quite easily! I have just started knitting another one!

Demiluna Shawl 09

Some side view pictures of the shawl…

Demiluna Shawl 03

Demiluna Shawl 04

Not long ago I showed you the beautiful spinning wheel lamp that I found on Gumtree. Well I found another one about a week or so later and here it is.

Small Lamp 01

It’s not as large as my first lamp but I love it all the same.

Small Lamp 02

One of my friends has suggested I wrap variegated yarn around the lamp shade. She must have been reading my mind. The lampshade currently has little cherubs around it and I thought straight away that I’d like to make it more ‘fibery’.

Small Lamp 03

Who’d have thought I’d pick up two spinning wheel lamps in as many weeks!

Small Lamp 04

They do look quite lovely together don’t they?

Two Lamps 01

I do love lamps as they provide so much atmosphere, particularly in winter…

Two Lamps 02

This morning I spent a wonderful two hours with friends completing a yarn bombing project. Here’s a progress pic…

06 Yarning Chair 21-6-14

It’s coming along nicely and I can’t wait until it’s completely covered.

Until next time…

Melanie

 

Leave a Reply

