Home Sweet Home!

Going away on holidays is lots of fun but coming home is always a treat too. There’s nothing like sleeping in your own bed, with your own pillow and having everything on hand rather than rummaging through bags and suitcases looking for something you forgot to pack!

I arrived home on Saturday but made sure I had another visit to Sheep Thrills at Noosaville on the Friday morning for some social knitting and yes you guessed it….I had to buy some more yarn!!!! Well it is going to be about a year before I get back there. Picked up another Ella Rae Merino Lace in these lovely earthy colours…

Ella Rae Merino Lace Earthy

Plus this stunning Marigold Silk

Marigold Silk Green

Marigold Silk Orange

Isn’t this one an eye opener?

Marigold Silk Variegated

All three together make rather a statement don’t they?

Marigold Silk

I might add that all of the above four yarns only cost me $20 each. Yes, the yarn at Sheep Thrills is very reasonably priced.

When I got home I had a couple of parcels waiting for me. Yes….I love a surprise! The first parcel held two skeins of the tenth offering in the Zen Yarn Garden ART WALK Series that features a painting by Andy Warhol entitled “Ice Cream Dessert“. From one medium to the next, artists express their use of colour. Inspired by Picasso, Zen Yarn Garden’s dyer has successfully captured the vividness and subtlety of the colours of the painting.

Zen Yarn Garden Ice Cream Dessert 05

Andy Warhol’s pioneering Pop Art defined a decade and a culture, distinguishing him as one of the most influential, creative and prolific artists of the 20th century. Originally the most sought-after commercial artist in New York, Warhol (1923 – 1987) is most known for his multiple images of Campbell’s Soup cans, Coke bottles, dollar bills and celebrities, which exalted the beauty within ordinary objects and familiar images. Working out of a studio called The Factory, he invented the silkscreening process which enabled him to mass produce a single image in his signature style. Warhol was also a talented filmmaker, music producer, commercial illustrator, author and magazine publisher. [quoted from Art.com]

Zen Yarn Garden Ice Cream Dessert painting

The yarn is Serenity Silk Single which is a 75% superwash merino / 15% cashmere / 10% silk and contains 430 yards / 100g (fingering single ply). Here’s a picture from Zen Yarn Garden’s website…

Zen Garden Ice Cream Dessert 04

The second parcel contained two skeins of beautifully dyed pure silk laceweight from Ms Gussett…

Ms Gussett Fresh Shoot Silk

It is simply divine…

Ms Gussett Tropical Fruit Silk

And then this morning there was ANOTHER parcel delivery! I forgot that while I was at Noosaville, Angela from Shorn Fibers released an Etsy update and posted it on her Facebook page. I, of course, had to have a look. Oh my goodness, these yarns are to die for!!!

Two skeins of Shorn Fibers Merino Superwash DK (115g per skein!). This colourway is Anaitis…

Shorn Fibers Anaitis 01

One skein of Shorn Fibers MCN 435 Sock which is an 80% superwash merino / 10% cashmere / 10% nylon yarn. This colourway is Wood Elf…

Shorn Fibers Wood Elf 04

One skein of Shorn Fibers Merino Superwash DK (115g per skein!). This colourway is Woodland Pixie…

Shorn Fibers Merino DK Woodland Pixie 03

Two skeins of Shorn Fibers Premium Sock which is a 75% superwash merino / 25% nylon yarn. This colourway is Agamede…

Shorn Fibers Agamede 04

And lastly, two skeins of Shorn Fibers Silky Fingering which is a 50% superwash merino / 50% silk yarn and it is so beautifully soft and silky. This colourway is Woodland Pixie…

Shorn Fibers Silky Fingering Woodland Pixie 03

I have no idea yet what I will knit with these yarns but just could not resist their beautiful colours. The right pattern will come along I know.

While I was at Eumundi Markets last Wednesday, I also picked up these two gloriously soft alpaca teddy bears…

Alpaca Teddies 01

 

And these three lightweight scarves…

Scarves 03

Scarves 04

Scarves 05

And to close off…this morning I ducked into a newly opened cheap shop in my area and found these three sheep. I’m assuming they’re sheep although they do have rather ‘googly’ eyes don’t they?

Three sheep

Plus these two boxes of tissues. They’re not the softest tissues so I only use them when I’m oiling my spinning wheels to catch the drips. And can you guess why I buy these particular boxes?

Tissue Box 01

Yes, I know…I’m a bit unusual aren’t I? I mean, I’m living in a home that is being overrun by spinning wheels, yarn and stuffed sheep!!!!!!!!!!!

Until next time…

Melanie

BTW, On the right hand side of the home page of my blog there are lots of interesting links. I’m not sure when you receive my weekly posts whether you see these links. If not, what you can do is click on the Home button which is at the top left hand side of the page. This will take you to the home page where you can view all the links plus the most recent post. One link also takes you directly to my Ravelry home page.

 

Shorn Fibers Anaitis 02-tile

4 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home!

  1. Hi Mel, I’m glad you’re home safely and with the company of such good stash! I love your sheep, they look like the ones from the Serta (I think) commercial. Really cute!

    Like

Leave a Reply

