Sunday Sunrise Shawl

The colour of this shawl initially caught my eye as I was searching through Ravelry. I had exactly the right yarn in mind to use for the Sunday Sunrise Shawl so it was packed along with lots of other projects on my recent visit to Noosaville.

I’ve had to wait until I arrived back home before I could block the shawl as I didn’t pack all my blocking equipment (my car was full enough as it was with knitting projects and my spinning wheel!)

I did, however, take a photo of the shawl before blocking…

Sunday Sunrise Shawl 02

And after blocking…

Sunday Sunrise Shawl 07

And that’s the difference that blocking makes, to my friends who have asked ‘what is blocking?’ and ‘why do you do it?’. Your garment can practically double in size!

Sunday Sunrise Shawl 03Sunday Sunrise Shawl 06

The yarn I used is Pumpkin Pie Spice from Zen Yarn Garden which is dyed on Serenity 20. It’s a 70% merino / 20% cashmere /10% nylon 4ply / fingering yarn and is beautifully soft and comfy.

Zen Yarn Garden Pumpkin Pie Spice 04

Sunday Sunrise Shawl 08

Sunday Sunrise Shawl 10This pattern has gorgeous stitch definition in it.

Sunday Sunrise Shawl 11

What I love about these crescent shaped shawls is how easily and comfortably they sit on your shoulders without slipping off.

Sunday Sunrise Shawl 04

Sunday Sunrise Shawl 05

That’s it for now. I’ve spent most of this week blocking all the shawls and scarves I made while away so you’ll be seeing them over the next few weeks.

Until next time…

Melanie

4 thoughts on “Sunday Sunrise Shawl

  1. The colors of the Ella Rae Merino Lace are stunning. I especially like the bright orange! How I would like to see your wool stash!

    Like

    • Thanks Jenny. My stash is akin to a small yarn shop. When I select a pattern I say to myself ‘let’s go shopping in the stash room to see what we can find”. I sometimes forget what yarn I do have and so it’s a surprise to unearth it 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

