Beautiful colours in nature and in yarn!

I love colour particularly autumn colours. I love their rich warm hues and their association with nature. I also love bright colours in particular oranges and yellows. So when my son unexpectedly presented me with the most beautiful gift of flowers I was ecstatic. He told me he had no idea what colours to get me so just selected what he thought looked nice. He certainly picked the right ones don’t you think?

Flowers from Richard 01

Flowers from Richard 15

Mother Nature has created some truly gorgeous colours and no doubt this is where a lot of artisan yarn dyers get their creative ideas from.

Flowers from Richard 17

I have taken so many pictures of these flowers as I don’t want to ever forget their beauty and who gave them to me.

Flowers from Richard 19

Flowers from Richard 04

Which leads me to one of my latest knitted garments.Β The Age of Brass and Steam Kerchief is a pattern I’ve had for ages and which I keep looking at and then move on to another pattern. However, with my recent Shorn Fibers‘ yarn purchases I knew straight away what yarn I could use with this pattern.

Age of Brass Steam 01

I was after a pattern that wasn’t too fussy so it could show off the beautiful colours that Angela has captured in this colourway called Woodland Pixie.

Age of Brass Steam 06

The colours remind me of a lovely balmy Autumn day with all the different shades of orange the leaves turn.

Age of Brass Steam 02

To utilise the whole skein of yarn I added an additional K2, YO, K to last 2 sts, YO, K2 row and then added a picot bind off to add a bit of a wow factor to the kerchief.

Age of Brass Steam 10

The yarn isΒ Shorn Fibers Merino Superwash DK (115g per skein!). I love, love, love all the autumn shades in this skein.

Shorn Fibers Merino DK Woodland Pixie 03

I actually started this kerchief on the day I received the yarn as I was so enchanted with it.

Age of Brass Steam 03

Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful….

Age of Brass Steam 07

Age of Brass Steam 04

Age of Brass Steam 05

I can’t wait to find patterns that will suit the other yarns I purchased from Shorn Fibers.

Here’s a very colourful mosaic of my beautiful flowers…

Flowers from Richard 01-tile

We’re in for a wet and cool weekend in Brisbane so I’m going to settle into some knitting, spinning and reading and I’ll be toasty warm wearing my hand knitted socks and a lovely warm scarf πŸ™‚

Until next time…

Melanie

 

6 thoughts on “Beautiful colours in nature and in yarn!

Leave a Reply

