Autumn Citron and Blue Miami Beach Shawls

Another week of work is finished. It’s been a very overcast, rainy and bleak day in Brisbane today and the weekend looks like it will be the same so it’ll be ideal weather for knitting! Tomorrow I’m off to do some more yarn bombing and straight after that it’s off to Knit and Knatter which I am so looking forward to.

At one stage I seemed to be knitting socks and more socks and now I’m knitting shawls and more shawls!

This Citron Shawl is my second using this pattern (and I’ve recently started my third!).

Autumn Citron 01

I love this pattern as it’s easy to follow and easy to knit. I would point out however that there is NO increasing when knitting rows 3-5 and 7-11. I get caught out every time!! If you’re going to knit this pattern maybe it would be an idea to write these words beside these rows. This shawl sits beautifully on my shoulders.

Autumn Citron 02

The yarn used for this shawl is the extra ball I had specially dyed by Angela from Shorn Fibers. It’s called Tuff Sock and is an 80% merino / 20% nylon yarn. I hit a bit of a snag as I reached the bottom of the shawl as I was fast running out of yarn. A quick visit to my stash room and I found some left over Madelinetosh Tosh Merino Light which is a 100% merino yarn. I had originally used this yarn for my Wholehearted Shawl and luckily there was enough left over and I think the paler green edging matches perfectly.

Shorn Fibers Autumn Gradient 3

Madelinetosh-65 TML Grasshopper

The shawl reminds me of those jellied citrus sweets…

Citrus image 02-tile

Autumn Citron 06

For a bit of a change I added a picot edging. I love a picot edge; it takes a while to complete but does look effective and is great for using up surplus yarn if you have it.

Autumn Citron 09

My Miami Beach Shawl turned out perfectly especially using this blue yarn…

Miami Beach Shawl 01

which is Cleckheaton Country 8ply in this unusually bright blue colour.

Cleckheaton Country Blue 02

The shawl has a beautiful lace edging…

Miami Beach Shawl 06

Both shawls are easy knits as there’s a lot of plain garter stitch.

Miami Beach Shawl 02

 

Miami Beach Shawl 07

The stitch definition is beautiful!

Miami Beach Shawl 05

I hope you’ve got some inspiration from these two patterns.

Until next time…

Melanie

 

2 thoughts on “Autumn Citron and Blue Miami Beach Shawls

Leave a Reply

