Two More Scarves….Just Enough Ruffles and Sandpiper

A couple more completed projects from my Noosaville holiday….Sandpiper Scarf and Just Enough Ruffles Scarf. The Sandpiper Scarf is from the pattern Bias Scarf with Ribbed Cables which is a free knitting pattern on Ravelry.

Sandpiper Scarf 02This is a very cleverly constructed scarf with cables on either side and garter stitch in the middle and even though you’re knitting straight rows without any increasing you automatically get a bias effect.

Sandpiper Scarf 01

Sandpiper Scarf 05

Sandpiper Scarf 06

The yarn I used is Shorn Fibers Merino Superwash Worsted and the colourway is Sandpiper (hence the name of the scarf!) This is a beautiful yarn to work with as are all of Shorn Fibers‘ yarns which I adore.

Shorn Fibers Sandpiper 1

My second scarf Just Enough Ruffles is another easy beginner scarf which has a wow impact with that ruffle.

Ruffles Scarf 04

I did block this scarf but only very lightly.

Ruffles Scarf 02

Ruffles Scarf 05

The ruffle is obtained by knitting three stitches into one thereby tripling the number of stitches in the row.

Ruffles Scarf 07

I had to search through my stash to find the yarn I wished to use for this scarf. I knew it would suit the pattern and I was right. It’s Skein’s Alpaca Merino Worsted which is a 60% alpaca / 40% merino yarn.

Skein Alpaca Merino Worsted Cardamon 02

Two more successful projects off the needles!

Sandpiper Scarf 04

Ruffles Scarf 06

I’m very excited as next Friday afternoon I am off to my first official spinning camp with the Redlands Spinners & Weavers. It’s going to be two days full of spinning, knitting, yarn, fibre and mixing with like-minded crafty women. And I’m finally going to get to meet Angela from Shorn Fibers as she will be having a small stall at the camp. You’ll hear all about it as I’m going to take lots of photos and no doubt buy a skein or two of yarn 🙂

Until next time…

Melanie

 

 

2 thoughts on “Two More Scarves….Just Enough Ruffles and Sandpiper

Leave a Reply

