My First Sensational Spinning Camp

Phew what a great weekend I’ve had! I attended my very first spinning camp with the Redlands Spinners and Weavers. The venue was the House of Happiness (even the name is appropriate!) at Woorim on the beautiful Bribie Island which is north of Brisbane, on the way to the Sunshine Coast.

Redlands SW Camp 2014 Welcome

I was very fortunate to get a lift with Shirley who picked me up at 2.30pm on Friday. We hit a couple of congested areas along the way but still made good time. There was a hive of activity at the venue as we arrived as everyone was unpacking and setting up their wheels and seating.

The group 01

Jan Sue Karin

Rona Gillian Tricia

We were also very fortunate to have two ‘shops’ at camp. Lindy (who is our Ashford agent) brought along lots of her goodies.

Lindy shop 01

Lindy Shop 02

And I finally got to meet Angela from Shorn Fibers as she brought along a wonderful selection of her fibre and yarn. If you’re a regular reader of my blog you’ll know I buy a lot of my yarn from Angela!!

Shorn Fibers 01

Shorn Fibers 02

Shorn Fibres 03

Two workshops were held on the weekend. On Saturday we were taught how to make these cute little sheep.

Sheep making 01

I think I need to perfect my technique somewhat…

Sheep 04

My little sheep is in the middle…

Shirley Mel Rona Sheep 02

And here is the flock of sheep!

Sheep all 04

Thank you Linda for teaching us to make these cute sheep!

Linda 01

In our second workshop Shirley showed us how to make these beautiful boxes…

Box 04

Box 02

The lid and base of each box was made with eight pieces of paper folded like this…

Box paper

Very intriguing and very clever I must say. That’s me holding my box.

Melanie box

My little sheep has found a home!

Box and sheep

One thing I did buy which was quite an investment was an Ashford Blending Board.

Blending Board 01

Blending Board 01a

You can blend fabulous fibres in your favourite colours and create beautiful rolags for spinning on the Ashford Blending board. The pack includes a large 30cm x 30cm (12’ x 12”) blending area, a blending brush and two dowels for easy drafting, rolling and removing the rolags, a removable, rotating adjustable keel, 108 point cloth, and a convenient carry handle. It has a lacquered finish too. Some of the girls on the camp went crazy using blending boards. Lindy brought along four to sell and they all went quite quickly!

Blended fibre

Here are just some of the rolags created on the weekend.

Poonies 02

Poonies 05

Poonies 03

Poonies 07

Tricia poonies

Poonies 09

I’ll experiment with my blending board over the next few weeks once I’ve packed away everything I bought at camp! I need to do some serious rearranging at my place to fit all my spinning gear in! I did, however, buy some fibre packs from Lindy so I can make a good start creating some colourful rolags on my blending board.

Blending Board 02

Blending fibre 02

We had a wonderful dinner on Saturday night and the tables were beautifully set by our wonderful camp convenor, Jan.

Table setting 01

Table setting 02

Jan and her husband made the Jazzy Jumbuck cut-outs plus the little gifts we were all presented with.

Table setting 03

Our personalised name tag, notebook gift plus our Jazzy Jumbuck theme for the weekend.

Jazzy Jumbucks

I also bought a couple of notebooks and bookmarks from Jan as well. Love them so much!

Notebooks

This is what the hall looked like at dinner time!

Dinner time 01

Empty! We were all very well fed I must say. As you can see, the most popular spinning wheel was the Ashford Joy obviously for its portability.

Dinner time 03

Dinner time 02

 I was lucky enough to win three of the raffle prizes so I donated two of them to my friends and kept this lovely sheep for myself. He does have feet but they’re a bit hard to see.

Raffle prize sheepI had the most wonderful weekend spent with wonderful crafty women who were so willing to share their company and knowledge. We had a lot of laughs and enjoyed ourselves immensely. Thanks must go to our camp convenor Jan who puts so much effort into making our camps so successful. I will DEFINITELY be back next year!

That’s me in the middle.

Melanie Shirley Judy

I didn’t get as much spinning and knitting done as I anticipated as I was much too busy talking, shopping, eating and having fun!

I’ll show you the yarn I bought in the not too distant future.

Until next time…

Melanie

2 thoughts on “My First Sensational Spinning Camp

Leave a Reply

