A Multitude of Minnies

When I find a knitting pattern that is easy, looks good and doesn’t take long, I seem to use it a few times! Which is what happened when I saw one of my Knit and Knatter friends making this Minnie scarf. I made one and so did some other women in the group. Minnie is definitely a hit – the perfect portable project!

My Cream Minnie is made with Sussex Wools 100% cotton. I bought six balls of this cotton at a charity stall. It’s made in South Africa and I can’t find any reference to it on the internet at all so I’m thinking these balls were stashed away in someone’s cupboard for quite a while before being donated to this charity stall. I’m so glad I bought them.

Cream Cotton Minnie 01

Cream Cotton Minnie 02

The cotton feels lovely against my neck and I love the fact it’s a completely natural fibre.

Cream Cotton Minnie 04

I love the edging. It looks just like popcorn doesn’t it?

Cream Cotton Minnie 07

# 2 is my Blue Minski Minnie and is made from Mirasol Yarns Minski which is a 10ply / worsted 100% baby llama yarn. It is simply stunning!

Blue Miski Minnie 01

A beautiful blue colour just like the ocean…

Blue Miski Minnie 03

So, so incredibly soft and warm…

Blue Miski Minnie 05

# 3 is my Black Signorina Minnie and is made from Moda Vera Signorina which is a an 8ply / DK 57% acrylic / 40% wool / 3% other yarn.

Minnie 01

Minnie 02

There’s a limit to how many photos you can take of an item that is just black!

Minnie 04

# 4 is my Grey Dalmatian Minnie made with Moda Vera Dalmatian which is a 12 ply / bulky 82% acrylic / 12% nylon yarn.

Dalmatian Grey Minnie 01

Synthetic fibres certainly have come a long way over the years. This yarn is incredibly soft and lends itself well to be a scarf.

Dalmatian Grey Minnie 04

I love the subtle pale blue in the yarn…

Dalmatian Grey Minnie 05

Dalmatian Grey Minnie 08

# 5 is my Green Splice Minnie made with Yatsal Craft Crochet Knitting Cotton which is a 4ply / fingering 100% plied cotton. I picked up two balls of this cotton at a second hand shop as I fell in love with the variegated effect of the colouring.

Green Splice Minnie 01

I love the stripe effect towards the ends and the pooling in the middle of the scarf.

Green Splice Minnie 03

Green Splice Minnie 08

A perfect little scarf for spring and autumn.

Green Splice Minnie 02

Have I convinced you that Minnie is a great scarf to knit??

I’m off to the inaugural meeting of the Queensland Bayside Yarn Club this afternoon for four hours!! It’ll be fun to meet some more crafty women and hopefully complete a project or two.

Until next time…

Melanie

8 thoughts on “A Multitude of Minnies

  1. Hi Melanie,

    I enjoy your blog and looked up the cotton you mentioned on Ravelry and found the following under the yarn tab. Your Minnies are wonderful and I sure do wish we could find more of this yarn.

    Your fan in the bottom of Western Australia, Tunie Moreno (peacockmom on Ravelry).

    Cotton Look
    BrandSussex WoolsWeightDK / 8 ply (11 wpi) ?
    Wraps per inchYardageUnit weight50 grams (1.76 ounces)
    Gaugests
    Needle sizeUS 6 – 8 or 4 – 5mmFibers100% Cotton
    Made in South Africa. Now discontinued.

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your comments and the info on the cotton!! I really love it when readers leave comments as it gives me the boost to keep the blog moving forward. I wonder how many other Aussie followers I have? Just looked at your Ravelry page and now I know where you got the name PeacockMom from 🙂

      Like

  2. Hi Mel,
    I’m just up the road at Noosa. Super keen (read obsessive) knitter. Gentlehummingbird on Ravelry. I think the Minnie will suit my relatives in the UK. Thanks for the pattern recommendation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

