Simple Skyp Socks – Pair # 33

It had been ages since I’d made a pair of socks so during my July holidays I started these gorgeous socks from a free pattern I found on Ravelry. They’re called Simple Skyp Socks and they sure are simple.

Simple Skyp Socks 01

I love the easy to memorise two row repeat which certainly helped me to get into the rhythm of the pattern.

Simple Skyp Socks 03

And for once I selected a solid colour that would really show off the very smart stitch definition.

Simple Skyp Socks 05

The yarn I selected is Dyed By Hand YarnsTough Stocking in the colourway called Turmeric. It’s a 75% merino / 15%  nylon yarn and was beautiful to knit with.

Tumeric_-_Tough_Stocking

In total I used 66g of yarn and also used 2.5mm dpns.

Simple Skyp Socks 10

Over 3,400 pairs of this particular sock pattern have been used and recorded on Ravelry!!

Simple Skyp Socks 12

This is definitely a ‘come back to’ pattern. It’s a step up from a plain vanilla pattern and yet easy enough to knit when you’re chatting with friends as the pattern is not overly intricate but certainly looks effective.

Simple Skyp Socks 15

Now for a little bit of exciting news. I responded to a request on a recent Ravelry forum to test some sock yarn for an Aussie online yarn dyer and I opted to knit a pair of socks so I am using the same pattern to trial the sock yarn. I’ll be posting updates on my Ravelry page as I go so you can drop in at any time to have a look!

The sock yarn arrived today in the mail and I’ve already taken some photos. Here it is…

Augustbird Socks 01

Aside from my favourite autumn colours, I do love all the different shades of blue. This particular colourway is called ‘Ink’ and I must say I love it!

Augustbird Socks 02

One last look at my Simple Skyp Socks and then I’m off to wind this skein into a ball so I can get started!

Simple Skyp Socks 02

And I’m off to Knit and Knatter tomorrow. We’ll be at the Redland Performing Arts Centre in conjunction with a Suitcase Rummage that is being held there at 11am. Should be an exciting day! Every weekend is now filled with lots of fibre happenings 🙂

Until next time…

Melanie

2 thoughts on “Simple Skyp Socks – Pair # 33

  1. those socks are beautiful. I had to go straight to Raveley and get that pattern. I love the color you used it really does show off the pattern.

    Like

Leave a Reply

