What is it about scarves and shawls?

I can’t believe how many scarves and shawls I’ve knitted over the last year or so. I mean, I only have one neck and I do live in Brisbane where it doesn’t get too cold for too long in winter. I can see my suitcase will be filled with my scarves when I cruise around New Zealand next year. I’ll be spoilt for choice!!

This is my Frillyilly Scarf made from a pattern I found on Ravelry. The reason why I purchased this pattern is because it reminds me of the Minnie Scarf except it has the frill on both sides which I rather like.

Frillyilly 01

It’s a great length and I’m really happy with the finished product.

Frillyilly 03

And another way to wear it…

Frillyilly 02

The yarn I used is the gorgeous Shorn Fibers MCN Sock 435 which is an 80% merino / 10% nylon / 10% cashmere 4ply / fingering yarn. The colourway is ‘Wood Elf’. This yarn is incredibly soft and makes a perfect scarf.

Shorn Fibers Wood Elf 04

This is my Fete Shawl and the pattern is available free on Ravelry.

Fete Shawl 01

There’s an awful lot of stockinette stitch in this shawl which is great if you don’t feel like concentrating too much!!

Fete Shawl 04

The edging really makes the shawl ‘pop’…

Fete Shawl 10

I’m a bit ‘ho hum’ about this shawl. I think it’s because I used the wrong yarn; Moda Vera Noir which is a 75% wool / 20% nylon 4ply / fingering sock yarn. Ideally, it should be used on socks as it gives a great fair isle look. I don’t know what possessed me to use it on this pattern. Must have been having a moment.

I rewrote the lace edge pattern portion which can be found on my Ravelry page link as it wasn’t clearly written. In hindsight, I should have finished with a garter stitch edge as it curls up a bit, even after blocking. Sometimes you end up with a project that you just don’t gel with and I think this is mine.

Fete Shawl 08

I’ll have to find the coolest places to knit this weekend as we’re headed for a scorcher in Brissie: high 30s (that’s celsius), however where I live on the coast it’ll be 2-3 degrees cooler.

Hope you all have a fantastic crafty weekend and keep warm and/or cool depending on where you live!

Until next time…

Melanie

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “What is it about scarves and shawls?

  1. As a fellow knitter and Brisbanite I can TOTALLY relate to this – I love knittng scarves and shawls tool and usually make sure I holiday in places like NZ when it’s cooler so I have a chance to wear them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

